Former champions Indian Oil Corporation, Mumbai will take on Air India Mumbai in the final of the 87th All India MCC Murugappa Hockey tournament in Chennai.

While Air India defeated defending champions ONGC 1-0 in a dull semifinal here this evening, IOC scrapped past BPCL 4-3 in the other last four match.

IOC had better the share of exchanges and led 2-0 at half time with goals from Hamza Mujithabah (30th), Thimanna (35th).

Tushar Khandekar, however, reduced the margin in the 40th minute for BPCL.

In the 45th minute, Deepak Thakur (3-1) scored off a pass from Vikas Pillay but the goal was disputed by the rival team members, who threatened to walk out but the tournament director intervened and then play resumed again.

IOC had couple of good chances including a penalty corner but had to wait for opportune moment to increase the lead through V R Raghunath (67th).

A minute later BPCL’s Hariprasad made it 2-4 and then at the dying minutes of the match William Xalco converted a penalty corner to make the scoreline 3-4.

In the first semifinal between Air India and ONGC, Joga Singh scored the winner in the 53rd minute after collecting a pass from Arjun Hallappa.

More In: Hockey | Sport | Chennai