Updated: September 26, 2012 16:19 IST

Hemant, Prabhu put Rovers in strong position

Special Correspondent
Comment   ·   print   ·   T  T  
Malolan Rangarajan.
Malolan Rangarajan.

C. Hemant Kumar (102 batting) and M. Prabhu (four wickets and 72 batting) guided Jolly Rovers to a strong position against Globe Trotters on the second day of a ninth-round TNCA first-division match.

The left-handed Hemant Kumar, who crossed the 700-run mark with his fourth century of the season, and Prabhu, asked to open after Ashwin Venkataraman was hit on the left shoulder while fielding at short-leg, added 171 runs for the unbroken third wicket at MRF-Pachaiyappa’s. Having dismissed Trotters for 335, Rovers ended Tuesday on 211 for two.

Malolan bowls well

Off-spinner Malolan Rangarajan’s six-wicket haul was instrumental in Young Stars taking control against Aruna at SRMC turf. Praveen Srivatsan held five catches. A 142-run first-innings lead secured, V. Subramania Siva hit a 61-ball 96 (7x4, 9x6) that allowed Young Stars to set a target of 322 in a minimum of 115 overs. Aruna responded with 87 for no loss.

Others to gain the first-innings lead were UFCC (T. Nagar) and TI Cycles.

Seamers L. Vignesh (four wickets), V. Lakshman and M.K. Sivakumar (three each) did the job for UFCC, restricting Grand Slam to 183 for a 10-run lead. TI had S. Thiyagarajan (69) and R. Kavin (50) to thank as despite leg-spinner M. Ashwin’s five-for India Pistons conceded a lead of 36.

Openers S. Murali (60) and Abhishek M. Hegde (62) led IOB to 176 for two after off-spinner Joel Joseph (five wickets) had kept Alwarpet to 262. Indian Bank’s openers did similarly against Vijay — N.S. Chaturved (64) and R. Ananth (57) raising 119 — but the team lost its way to end on 165 for five. Vijay was earlier dismissed for 302, off-spinner M.O. Arjun Sarathy claiming five wickets.

The scores (round nine, day two):

At IIT-Chemplast: Alwarpet 262 in 101.3 overs (P. Shijith Chandran 67, M. Lakshminarayanan 79 n.o., Joel Joseph five for 86) vs. IOB 176 for two in 81 overs (S. Murali 60, Abhishek M. Hegde 62).

At Murugappa: India Pistons 254 and 103 for three in 23 overs (R. Srinivasan 53 batting) vs. TI Cycles 290 in 63.4 overs (S. Thiyagarajan 69, R. Kavin 50, M. Ashwin five for 68).

At SRMC turf: Young Stars 307 and 179 for eight decl. in 33.1 overs (V. Subramania Siva 96) vs. Aruna 165 in 49.4 overs (J. Koushik 50, Malolan Rangarajan six for 65) and 87 for no loss in 25 overs (R. Vivek 43 batting).

At MRF-Pachaiyappa’s: Globe Trotters 336 in 102.1 overs (Y. Venugopala Rao 100, S. Sriram 55, M. Prabhu four for 90) vs. Jolly Rovers 211 for two in 75 overs (M. Prabhu 72 batting, C. Hemant Kumar 102 batting).

At MAC: UFCC (T. Nagar) 193 and 17 for one in seven overs vs. Grand Slam 183 in 66.1 overs (B. Aparajith 44, L. Vignesh four for 58).

At IC-Guru Nanak: Vijay 302 in 93.1 overs (R. Rohith 60, K.B. Arun Karthick 62, M.O. Arjun Sarathy five for 89) vs. Indian Bank 165 for five in 84 overs (N.S. Chaturved 64, R. Ananth 57, R. Aushik Srinivas four for 46).

More In: Sport | Chennai
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Pages from the past Digging out some classic articles from our exhaustive archives.

That night...June 25, 1983

Field Marshal extraordinaire

Giving the boys their due

The fascinating journey with Lara

Salute to a great team in decline

Let us resolve...

It isn't cricket



Recent Article in Sport

Madison Keys (right) of the U.S. shakes hands with compatriot Venus Williams after winning the women's singles quarter-final match at the Australian Open 2015 tennis tournament in Melbourne on Wednesday, January 28, 2015.

Australian Open: Venus Williams crashes out in quarters

The semifinalists from the other half of the women’s draw have already been determined No. 2 Maria Sharapova will play No. 10-seeded Ekaterina Makarova on Thursday. »