Govindraj top scored with 83 in RSJ CC’s eight-wicket win over Gladiators CC in a match in the SSCA League being organised by Seven Star Cricket Association.

The scores: Gladiators CC 201 in 29.3 overs. (K. Raja 30, Srinath 25, Guna 25, Hair Mahesh 33 n.o., Sugumar three for 25) lost to RSJ CC 204 for two in 21.2 overs. (M. Yuvaraj 63 n.o., Kalaivanan 27, Govindraj 83); Villai Warriors 194 for nine in 30 overs. (Praveen 46, Namashivayam 47, Sugumar four for 19) lost to RSJ CC 196 for two in 25.2 overs. (M. Yuvaraj 74 n.o., S. Gunaseelan 88 n.o.); Platinum CC 234 for eight in 30 overs. (K. Gokul 80, J. Dinesh 52, Sundar three for 33, Nadha three for 50) bt Barclays 170 in 26 overs. (Nandha 48, Mohanraj 43, Lokesh three for three).

Raymond to sponsor

Raymond Limited has extended its title-sponsorship deal with the India International Regatta until 2021. The fourth edition of the India International Regatta is to be held from Oct. 16 to 22 on the seas outside the Chennai Port.

The event will witness young sailors from the age of 9 to 19 parading their skills.

Income Tax cruises

Income Tax RC thrashed Iqbal RC 8-1 in the Chennai Hockey Association first division league here.

The results: Income Tax RC 8 (Dheepak Ganesh 2, Selvakumar 2, Nishant 2, Ramesh Babu, Gopi Krishnan) bt Iqbal RC 1 (Rahman); The Hindu w/o Wesley HC.

Nithin, Vidya in team

V. Nithin Thiruvengadam and N. Vidya have been given the pride of place in the men’s and women’s sections in the Velammal’s sixth State-ranking table tennis tournament to be held at Velammal International School, Panchetti here on October 13 and 14.

The seedings: Men: 1. V. Nithin Thiruvengadam, 2. M. Subash, 3. L. Sathiswaran, 4. L. Sachin; Youth boys: 1. V. Nithin Thiruvengadam, 2. Sushmit Sriram, 3. M.N. Anish, 4. S. Prasanna; Juniors: 1. D. Sameera Kumar, 2. K.R. Rohit, 3. S. Nikhil, 4. M. Anirudh; Sub-juniors: 1. Sachin Viswanath, 2. D. Ananth, 3. Rahul Krishna, 4. J. Rakesh; Cadets:1. Piyush Sagar, 2. Shriram Kannan, 3. Kishore Kumar, 4. J. Karan.

Women: 1. N. Vidya, 2. Amrutha Pushpak, 3. Sumana R Krishnan, 4. N. Sathyabama; Youth girls: 1. V. Sneha, 2. Amrutha Pushpak, 3. Sumana R. Krishnan, 4. N. Vidya; Juniors: 1. Amrutha Pushpak, 2. C.R. Harshavardini, 3. R. Ke. Yukthi Roshini, 4. Abinaya Ramesh; Sub-juniors: 1. C. Harshavardini, 2. S. Yashini, 3. S. Selena Deepth, 4. Abinaya Ramesh; Cadets: 1. Swetha Steffi, 2. Santhana Aishwarya, 3. Easther Agnus, 4. V. Kowshika.

More In: Sport | Chennai