Former Manchester United coach Sir Alex Ferguson was named ‘Manager of the Year’ by League Managers Association (LMA) for guiding the Red Devils to a record 20th English Premier League title.

Cardiff City’s Malky Mackay was named Championship Manager of the Year for leading his side to its first-ever promotion to the EPL, while Gary Johnson of Yeovil Town was honoured as League One Manager of the Year, at the LMA awards dinner on Monday.

Gillingham’s Martin Allen won the League Two manager’s award.

“In a way I am glad it is all over now because it has been hard work,” said Ferguson.

The 71-year-old won 38 trophies in the 26-year reign at Old Trafford. “It has been overwhelming,” said Ferguson. “The club has been fantastic and congratulations to West Brom with the way it handled on Sunday.”

“I think (West Brom manager) Steve Clarke should get an award because anyone who scores five against United deserves it.”

More In: Football | Sport