Sport » Football

Updated: May 1, 2010 06:35 IST

Rooney wins footballer writers’ award

print   ·   T  T  
A file photo of Wayne Rooney
A file photo of Wayne Rooney

Wayne Rooney was named the Football Writers’ Association footballer of the year on Friday.

The 24-year-old Manchester United forward, who won the players’ player of the year award last week, polled 81 per cent of the vote to finish ahead of Chelsea forward Didier Drogba and Manchester City’s Carlos Tevez.

“I am delighted to win an award with so much history and tradition and to follow a long line of wonderful players who have been honoured by the Football Writers’ Association since 1948 gives me real pride,” said Rooney.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank my Manager at United, Sir Alex Ferguson, the coaching staff and my teammates, without whose help and support this award would not have been possible.

“Also a big thanks to my family and friends for their constant support which is always appreciated.

“I thank the Football Writers’ Association members who voted for me and I look forward to personally collecting my award at the Footballer of the Year dinner in London on May 13.”

More In: Football | Sport

Indian Super League - 2014

More Indian Super League - 2014 »






Recent Article in Football

East Bengal thumps Dempo

Kingfisher East Bengal found its form to outplay Dempo SC 3-1 in a Hero I-League match at the Salt Lake Stadium here on Saturday. Dudu O... »