Sport » Football

Updated: April 15, 2010 18:01 IST

Rooney, Fabregas nominated for 2 PFA awards

print   ·   T  T  
Cesc Fabregas
Cesc Fabregas

Wayne Rooney is an overwhelming favourite to win the English Player of the Year award from his fellow pros and keep the title at Manchester United.

After scoring 34 league and cup goals this season, the England striker was named on a short list of four in the Professional Footballers’ Association awards alongside Arsenal’s Cesc Fabregas, Chelsea’s Didier Drogba and Carlos Tevez of Manchester City.

Bookmakers William Hill rate Rooney a 1-50 shot to capture the award for the first time and become the first English player since Liverpool’s Steven Gerrard in 2006 to win it.

United veteran Ryan Giggs, who is Welsh, won the 2009 award and Portuguese star Cristiano Ronaldo, now with Real Madrid, received it the previous two seasons.

Rooney and Fabregas are also among the nominees for young player of the year alongside Aston Villa’s James Milner and Birmingham goalkeeper Joe Hart.

Rooney, who is 1-14 to win both awards, won that in 2005 and ‘06 and Fabregas collected it in 2008.

More In: Football | Sport

Indian Super League - 2014

More Indian Super League - 2014 »






Recent Article in Football

FIFA presidential candidate Van Praag withdraws

It was long expected that at least one of Blatter’s rivals would withdraw before election day to unify opposition. »