Sport » Football

Updated: March 28, 2013 01:58 IST

Onyeama sees Southern Samity through

Sports Reporter
Comment   ·   print   ·   T  T  
Southern Samity’s Francis Onyeama
heads home a late winner against Mumbai Tigers
in Bangalore on Wednesday. Photo: G.P. Sampath Kumar
Southern Samity’s Francis Onyeama heads home a late winner against Mumbai Tigers in Bangalore on Wednesday. Photo: G.P. Sampath Kumar

A late winner from Francis Onyeama propelled Southern Samity (Kolkata) past Mumbai Tigers FC, and into the final round of the second division I-League here on Wednesday.

Southern Samity’s win sends NRB Vasco SC, Goa out of the competition. Mumbai Tigers was already assured of a spot in the next round, and will progress as the second-best team from Group ‘C’.

With five minutes of regulation time to go and the score tied at 1-1, the Kolkata side was in danger of exiting the tournament. Spurred on with the knowledge that nothing less than a win will suffice, a sense of urgency finally emerged. From the flank, the ball curled high into the penalty box, and as the tired Mumbai Tigers defence made a weak attempt to avert danger, Nigerian striker Onyeama rose well above everyone around him and headed the ball home.

Mumbai Tigers — head coach Mahesh Lotlikar chose to play his stars like Mohammad Rafi and Prakash Shivalkar as substitutes — then nearly pulled level. Just before full-time, Rafi received a cross from Shivalkar, and the former effected a glancing header which was expertly tipped over the bar by goalkeeper Naseem Akhtar.

Earlier in the match, Southern Samity took the lead through Sovan Chakraborty, before a delightful sequence of passes between Shivalkar, Bikash Jairu and Rafi led to an equaliser.

The final round will begin here on March 30.

The results:

Eagles FC 2 (Rino Anto, T.S. Satheesan) drew with Hindustan FC 2 (Andrea Silva, Mahener Singh); Mumbai Tigers FC 1 (Mohammed Rafi) lost to Southern Samity 2 (Sovan Chakraborty, Francis Onyeama).

Final standings (played, win, draw, loss, goal difference, points): 1. Southern Samity, Kolkata (7, 5, 2, 0, +6, 17); 2. Mumbai Tigers FC (7, 5, 1, 1, +7, 16); 3. NRB Vasco SC, Goa (7, 5, 1, 1, +6, 16); 4. Kalighat Milan Sangha FC, Kolkata (7, 3, 1, 3, +10, 10); 5. South United FC, Bangalore (7, 2, 1, 4, -1, 7); 6. Eagles FC, Kerala (7, 1, 2, 4, -8, 5); 7. Hindustan FC, New Delhi (7, 1, 1, 1, 5, -7, 4); 8. Luangmual FC, Mizoram (7, 1, 1, 5, -14, 4).

More In: Football | Sport
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor






Recent Article in Football

Bayern Munich head coach Pep Guardiola of Spain led them to the Bundesliga and German Cup double championships last season. File photo

Bayern Munich chairman: Club will never fire Guardiola

Bayern Munich Chairman Karl-Heinz Rummenigge said Guardiola will remain in charge “at least until his contract ends” in 2016. »