FIFA has ruled out the possibility of replaying the France-Ireland World Cup qualifier.

The sport’s governing body replied to an appeal from the Irish football federation to replay the match because France striker Thierry Henry handled the ball to set up the deciding goal in extra-time in the 2-1 aggregate win.

FIFA says “The result of the match cannot be changed and the match cannot be replayed. As is clearly mentioned in the Laws of the Game, during matches, decisions are taken by the referee and these decisions are final.”

More In: Football | Sport