Arjen Robben (bottom right) celebrates scoring his team's fifth goal.

Van Persie, Robben star in Netherlands’ 5—1 rout of Spain

Robin van Persie and Arjen Robben scored twice each as the Netherlands avenged their 2010 World Cup final defeat to Spain with a record 5-1 drubbing of the defending champions. »
Franz Beckenbauer, who won the World Cup as a player in 1974 and then as a coach in 1990, was on the FIFA executive board in 2010 when the 2022 tournament was awarded to Qatar. File Photo

FIFA bans Beckenbauer over Qatar inquiry rejection

FIFA banned Beckenbauer from any football-related activity for 90 days after he refused to speak to an inquiry into allegations that Qatar paid bribes to secure votes for its 2022 World Cup bid. »
Oribe Peralta (right) celebrates with teammates after scoring a goal.

Mexico down Cameroon 1-0 as officials flop again

Oribe Peralta grabbed the only goal after 61 minutes but Mexico will consider themselves unlucky not to have been more comfortable winners. »
Netherlands players train hard during a practice session on the eve of their gruelling contest against Spain on Thursday.

Spain-Netherlands repeat dominates today’s games

Netherlands coach Louis van Gaal admits that Spain may still be playing the better football now, but insists that revenge is still possible. »