FIFA president Sepp Blatter says it wasn’t Thierry Henry’s responsibility to tell the referee he handled the ball in the build-up to France’s goal against Ireland in the World Cup playoff.

Henry handled the ball in the lead-up to William Gallas’ equaliser in a 1-1 draw at Stade de France on November 18 that gave France a 2-1 aggregate win and a place at next year’s World Cup at the expense of the Irish.

Blatter was quoted as saying in L’Equipe newspaper that it wasn’t his Henry’s “responsibility to tell the referee (Martin Hansson)” and that “the referee should have taken the time to reflect rather than immediately awarding the goal.”

Blatter said he called Henry because the Barcelona striker had tried to phone him.

RELATED NEWS

Henry admits using his hand to qualify FranceNovember 19, 2009

More In: Football | Sport