In an all-Loyola final, Dhiraj Gopinath and Harish Ramakrishnan will meet Praveen Raj and Adil in the tennis doubles final of the Bertram memorial tournaments to be held at Loyola College here on Friday.

The results:

Tennis singles (quarterfinals): Praveen Raj (Loy) bt S. Aravind (Loy) 6-3, 6-1; Ihsan Hussain (PVM) bt Dhiraj Gopinath (Loy) 4-6, 6-0, 6-3; Soorya Prasath (Rajalakshmi) bt Adil (Loy) 6-4, 6-4; Harish Ramakrishnan (Loy) bt S. Gokul (PSBB) 6-2, 6-0.

Doubles (semifinals): Dhiraj Gopinath &Harish Ramakrishnan (Loy) bt R. Viswesh & Aravind (Loy) 6-1, 6-2; Praveen Raj & Adil (Loy) bt Soorya Prasath & Veerapan (Rajalakshmi) 6-2, 6-1.

Volleyball: (II round): JHA Agarsan bt S.R.D.K.V HSS 25-19, 25-15; St. Joseph’s (Tiruchi) bt D.G. Vaishnav 25-18, 25-12; D.B. Jain bt Partician 25-17, 25-18; A.N.J.A.C (Sivakasi) bt T.S.N 25-11, 25-10.

First round: Hindustan bt Andhra Loy (Vijayawada) 17-25, 25-21, 25-23; Agni College of Engg. bt Jaya College Arts and Science 25-10, 25-13; T.S.N bt LICET 26-24, 25-22; Partician bt M.I.T 25-22, 25-14; S.R.D.K.V.HSS bt SIGA Polytechnic 18-25, 25-23, 25-17.

Sathyabama prevails

Sathyabama University prevailed over Jain University 63-58 in the league stage of the Founder’s birthday State-level inter-collegiate basketball tournament for men and women, conducted by SRM University, on Wednesday.

The host team defeated Hindustan University 68-59.

The results:

Men: Sudarsan Engineering bt Velammal 26-16; Jeppiaar Engineering bt SRM ‘B’ 47-23; Bharath University bt TN.Physical Education Sports 38-31; Jain University bt Jeppiaar Institute of Technology 62-59; SRM bt Bharath University 65-28; Sathyabama bt Sudarsan Engineering 47-11;

League: Sathyabama bt Jain University 63-58; SRM bt Hindustan University 68-59.

Women: Jain University bt Hindustan University 39-10; SRM bt Easwari Engineering 28-10; Jain University bt Easwari Engineering 39-15; SRM bt Hindustan University 35-23.

Manrayar’s effort in vain

Vinoth Manrayar’s four-wicket haul went in vain as YSCC registered a 21-run victory over ACC in the Kesavan Memorial T20 cricket tournament recently.

The scores:

Ajuba 125 for nine in 20 overs (Vignesh 30, Kumar three for 29, Varadharajan three for 14) bt JPCC 110 for eight in 20 overs (Sarathy 30).

YSCC 144 in 18 overs (Vinoth 32, Purushoth three for 29, Vinoth Manrayar four for 40) bt ACC 123 for four in 20 overs (Rahul 69 n.o.).

MK Foundation 66 in 15 overs (Arul three for four, Muthu three for eight) lost to Eswar CC 69 for one in 5.3 overs (Dinesh 27 n.o.).

FCC 135 in 19 overs (Mohan 65, Sundar four for 29) lost to RMC 137 for five in 19.4 overs (Venkatesh 62).

Friends Cricket Club 134 for seven in 15 overs (Ramakrishna 32) bt TN XI Star 83 for five in 15 overs.

Pradeep CC 101 for nine in 20 overs (Yogesh 30, Mani 30, Chinraj three for 19) lost to Eswar 102 for five in 14.2 overs (Rajagopal 50).


SportsMay 14, 2012

More In: Sport | Chennai