The weight of a 300-plus total was more than adequate for the West Indies ‘A’ to stifle India ‘A’ in the third and final one-dayer at a boisterous Chinnaswamy Stadium here on Thursday.

Chasing the visitors’ 312 for nine, the host mustered 267 for eight in 50 overs, and its 45-run loss helped the West Indies ‘A’ win the series 2-1.

After Robin Uthappa and Naman Ojha perished, much hinged on skipper Yuvraj Singh (61).

The southpaw’s audacity was evident in a six off Jonathan Carter. The bat cut an arc and the follow-through was minimal, though, by then, the ball had sailed over long-on.

Dropped on 40 by Veerasammy Permaul, Yuvraj added 112 runs for the third-wicket with Baba Aparajith (78).

And, just as the 11,000-strong crowd sensed hope, the duo succumbed to spinners Ashley Nurse and Permaul, and India ‘A’ lost its way.

Earlier, the West Indies ‘A’ thrived on Kirk Edwards’s 104 (104b, 12x4, 3x6). The visitors’ captain Kieran Powell and his opening partner Andre Fletcher added 74 runs, and after they departed, Edwards whetted his appetite with a four off Yuvraj, carved into Yusuf Pathan and Aparajith, and later drove the seamers.

He also enjoyed a reprieve as Mandeep Singh dropped him on 47.

Among the support-cast, Carter (35), Leon Johnson (54) and Devon Thomas played bristling roles, while Jaydev Unadkat’s five-for offered no succour to the harried Indians.

The scores:

West Indies ‘A’: Andre Fletcher lbw b Nadeem 28 (52b, 2x4, 1x6), Kieran Powell c Uthappa b Nadeem 40 (33b, 4x4, 1x6), Kirk Edwards b Unadkat 104 (104b, 12x4, 3x6), Jonathan Carter b Aparajith 35 (38b, 3x4, 1x6), Leon Johnson c Jadhav b Unadkat 54 (42b, 4x4, 3x6), Andre Russell b Unadkat 1 (3b), Devon Thomas c & b Unadkat 21 (13b, 2x4, 1x6), Ashley Nurse c Kaul b Unadkat 10 (7b, 2x4), Nikita Miller (not out) 2 (3b), Veerasammy Permaul c Yusuf b Vinay 2 (3b), Miguel Cummins (not out) 0 (2b), Extras (lb-10, w-5) 15; Total (for nine wkts. in 50 overs) 312.

Fall of wickets: 1-74, 2-79, 3-145, 4-238, 5-255, 6-295, 7-308, 8-308, 9-311.

India ‘A’ bowling: Vinay Kumar 10-1-56-1, Jaydev Unadkat 10-0-55-5, Siddarth Kaul 7-0-56-0, Shahbaz Nadeem 9-1-33-2, Yusuf Pathan 5-0-38-0, Yuvraj Singh 5-0-34-0, Baba Aparajith 4-0-30-1.

India ‘A’: Robin Uthappa (run out) 27 (28b, 3x4), Baba Aparajith b Permaul 78 (96b, 6x4, 1x6), Naman Ojha c Thomas b Carter 0 (5b), Yuvraj Singh b Nurse 61 (59b, 4x4, 3x6), Kedar Jadhav c Miller b Cummins 17 (25b, 3x4), Yusuf Pathan b Cummins 18 (21b, 1x4, 1x6), R. Vinay Kumar (not out) 37 (38b, 3x4), Shahbaz Nadeem b Permaul 6 (5b, 1x4), Siddarth Kaul c Nurse b Permaul 6 (13b, 1x4), Jaydev Unadkat (not out) 1 (10b), Extras (b-4, lb-1, w-11) 16; Total (for eight wkts. in 50 overs) 267.

Fall of wickets: 1-46, 2-46, 3-158, 4-181, 5-197, 6-227, 7-234, 8-250.

West Indies ‘A’ bowling: Miguel Cummins 10-0-46-2, Andre Russell 10-0-52-0, Jonathan Carter 6-0-27-1, Nikita Miller 5-0-40-0, Ashley Nurse 9-0-42-1, Veerasammy Permaul 10-0-55-3.

More In: Cricket | Sport