Nine countries will participate in the first ever T20 blind cricket World Cup, to be held in Bangalore from December 2-13.

Apart from the host, Australia, Bangladesh, England, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies, Sri Lanka and Nepal will participate in the event, which will be organised jointly by NGO Samarthanam and Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI).

Addressing a press conference here on Wednesday, CABI president S.P. Nagesh said, “I thank all the supporters who have joined hands with us and I also request other well-wishers to fill the gap, which is close to Rs. 1.5 crore.”

Oscar Fernandes, the patron of the event, hoped that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) would respond to CABI’s request.

Meanwhile, the CABI has announced a 17-member Indian team for the event.

The team: Shekar Naik (capt), I. Ajaykumar Reddy (vice-capt), Ganeshbhai Bhusara, Hanuman Pooniya, K. Ramesh, Maneesh A., Prakasha Jayaramaiah, Dunna Venkatesh, Hiteshbhai Patel, Dilip Munde, Pankaj Bhue, Vikas Patel, Ketanbhai Patel, Sanjeev Kumar Dalal, Ravi S, Mohammad Jaffar Iqbal, Subhash Bhoya;

Coach: Patrick Rajkumar; Manager: David.

More In: Cricket | Sport