Shane Watson beat Michael Clarke by a comfortable 15-vote margin to bag the Allan Border Medal besides being named Australia’s ODI Player of the Year.

Watson polled 125 votes from the players, media and the umpires, in comparison to Clarke’s 90 to run away with the Allan Border, which is given to the best Australian cricketer of the year.

In the ODI Player of the Year category, Watson bagged 33 votes to edge out Michael Hussey who had 25.

Watson’s opening partner Simon Katich was adjudged Test Player of the Year with 11 votes, one more than left-arm pacer Mitchell Johnson got.

More In: Cricket | Sport