An unbeaten 154-run opening-wicket partnership between D.B. Prashanth (80, 9x4, 1x6) and H. Watekar (57, 4x4) put Andhra in a commanding position against Tripura at the end of the second day’s play in the Group ‘C’ Ranji Trophy match at the Rural Development Trust Stadium here on Saturday.

Earlier resuming at 228 for six, Tripura was all out for 260 in 107 overs.

With the ball coming on nicely, the openers played patiently to take the host to 154 at close. Tripura skipper Ajay Ratra used seven bowlers but failed to achieve the initial breakthrough. The post-lunch session proceeded at a snail’s pace as Andhra scored less than two runs — 49 to be precise — in 25 overs.

Aggressive Prashanth

Between the experienced Watekar and rookie Prashanth, the latter looked more aggressive and seldom hesitated to unleash strokes on either side of the wicket. His straight six off pacer Rana Dutta and a cover drive off the back-foot off Chowdary were a treat to watch.

Earlier, Tripura’s innings lasted only 90 minutes before folding up.

Overnight centurion Abbas Ali was the first to go without adding any run when he nicked a rising delivery to the wicketkeeper. The tail wagged a bit and added 32 runs.

Left-arm pacer Atchutha Rao was the successful bowler for Andhra with three for 41 while Shahabuddin, Siva Kumar and Vijaya Kumar scalped two apiece.

The scores: Tripura – 1st innings: Samrat Singha c D.B. Prashanth b Pawar 15, Subrajit Roy b Atchutha Rao 0, Udit Patel c Vamsi Krishna b Siva Kumar 26, Abbas Ali c Vamsi Krishna b Vijaya Kumar 103, Ajay Ratra c Vamsi Krishna b Siva Kumar 27, Abhijit Dey lbw Shahabuddin 17, D.D. Chowdary c Watekar b. Shahabuddin 20, M.B. Mora Singh c Prashanth b Vijaya Kumar 21, Timir Chandra c Rajesh Pawar b. Atchutha Rao 11, Rana Dutta (not out) 5, T.S. Saha lbw b Atchutha Rao 0; Extras (b-12, lb-2. W-1): 15; Total (in 107 overs): 260.

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-40, 3-54, 4-86, 5-140, 6-197, 7-228, 8-254, 9-260.

Andhra bowling: Shahabuddin 19-5-49-2, Atchutha Rao 16-4-41-3, Vijaya Kumar 32-14-49-2, Siva Kumar 23-12-48-2, Rajesh Pawar 14-1-46-1, Amol Mazumdar 3-1-13-0.

Andhra —1st innings: D. B. Prashanth (batting) 80, H. Watekar (batting) 57; Extras (b-8, lb-2, nb-7): 17; Total (for no loss in 63 overs): 154.

Tripura bowling: Timir Chandra 20-8-34-0, Rana Dutta 9-2-22-0, Mora Singh 9-5-26-0, T. S. Saha 12-2-23-0, D.D. Chowdary 4-1-18-0, Udit Patel 3-1-19-0, Abbas Ali 2-1-2-0.

More In: Cricket | Sport