Sagar Mishra of Khandu Rangnekar XI was declared the ‘player of the tournament’ in the 27th Sportstar Trophy (u-19) tournament 2012. Ravi Savant, President, Mumbai Cricket Association presented Mishra the Ramakant Desai Trophy, a cricket kit from Sportstar and a cricket bag from Nike. Nitin Dalal and Dr. P.V. Shetty, Jt. Hon. Secretaries, MCA also attended the function.

Savant said: “You should not be happy with two three good performances. Wasim Jaffer should be your role model. He has been consistent for many years and even though he has not been selected in the Indian team, he’s scoring runs. The Sportstar Trophy has been run for 27 years and it has contributed to the development of Mumbai cricket.”

After many years, Vijay Merchant XI won the team title and its skipper Vikrant Auti received the trophy from Savant.

N. Parthasarathy, Assistant Vice-President, The Hindu Group welcomed the gathering.

The awardees:

Best fielder: Amogh Bhatkal (Rs. 1000 from Bal Mahaddalkar’s family). Man of the match: Jayesh Patil, Yash Chavan, Karsh Kothari, Sarabjit Singh and Vaibhav Mali (Rs. 2002 gift voucher from Sportstar each and merchandise from Nike).

Player of the tournament: Sagar Mishra (Ramakant Desai Trophy , cricket kit worth Rs. 47,000 from Sportstar and merchandise from Nike).

More In: Cricket | Sport