Former India captain Gundappa Viswanath has been named the recipient of the Castrol Lifetime Achievement in Cricket Award while all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja would get the Junior Cricketer of the Year Award.

The Bangalore-based ex-cricketer, known for his wristy elegance and fearless batsmanship against top-class pace bowling, would receive Rs. five lakh and a trophy at the awards function here on September 17, a media release said.

Vishy, who has already won the Cricket Board’s C. K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award, played 91 Tests from 1969 to 1983 and scored 6,080 runs, including fourteen centuries. Each of his hundreds was either match-winning or match-saving.

His notable match-winning knocks include 139 against the West Indies in Kolkata in 1974-75, 112 against the same team at Port of Spain in 1975-76, and 114 versus Australia at Melbourne, all of which helped set up famous victories for India.

The earlier award winners in this category include Vijay Hazare, Polly Umrigar, B S Chandrasekhar, Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev and Erapalli Prasanna.

Jadeja gets the award for his all-round display in the 2008-09 edition of the Ranji Trophy, in which he scored 729 runs and grabbed 42 wickets with his left-arm spin for Saurashtra.

He was the highest wicket-taker in the competition, along with Mumbai’s Dhawal Kulkarni and would receive a trophy and a cheque for Rs. one lakh, the release added.

The other categories of the awards, whose winners will be declared later, include the Test Cricketer of the Year 2008, ODI Cricketer of the Year, Indian Batsman of the Year and Indian Bowler of the Year 2008.

More In: Cricket | Sport