Shivnarine Chanderpaul completed a sterling century to boost the visitors’ confidence in the tour opener against the Uttar Pradesh Ranji side at the Jadavpur University complex here on Friday.

Resuming at 333 for four, West Indies scored 466 in its first innings before producing a disciplined bowling performance to reduce Uttar Pradesh to 206 for five at stumps on the second day of the three-day match.

Chanderpaul, who is looking to reach the milestone of 150 Tests, hit an elegant cover-drive off a Rudra Pratap Singh delivery to reach his 68th century in 311 first class matches. Chanderpaul laid the foundation for a big score with a 197-run partnership with his Guyana compatriot Narsingh Deonarine.

A momentary lapse in concentration saw Deonarine miss his century as he was trapped leg-before by Ahmed.

Ahmed then castled West Indies captain Darren Sammy (10) to complete a five-wicket haul, his fourth in first-class cricket.

The Uttar Pradesh batting tottered at the start losing four wickets for 96 runs before Parvinder Singh (78 batting) and Prashant Gupta (39) resurrected the innings.

The scores: West Indies XI: Chris Gayle  b Ahmed  18, Kieran Powell  b Alam  64, Darren Bravo  b Singh  61, Marlon Samuels  c Amir Khan b Ahmed  12, Shivnarine Chanderpaul  lbw b Imtiaz Ahmed  112, Narsingh Deonarine  lbw b Ahmed  94, Denesh Ramdin b Singh  2, Darren Sammy c Singh b Ahmed  10, Veerasammy Permaul  (not out) 46, Tino Best  c Ahmed b Singh  35, Sheldon Cotterrell (run out) 6; Extras (lb-5, w-1): 6;Total (in 103.3 overs): 466.

Fall of wickets: 1-33, 2-145, 3-149, 4-163, 5-360, 6-367, 7-367, 8-387, 9-454.

Uttar Pradesh bowling: Rudra Pratap Singh 24.3-4-86-3, Ankit Rajpoot 6.3-1-29-0, Imtiaz Ahmed 25-5-117-5, Piyush Chawla 24-2-134-0, Prashant Gupta 7.3-0-38-0, Arish Alam 16-2-57-1.

Uttar Pradesh XI: Tanmay Srivastava b Cotterrell 23, Mukul Dagar b Best 42, Mohammad Kaif c Powell b Permaul 16, Parvinder Singh batting 78, Arish Alam c Ramdin b Permaul 0, Prashant Gupta c Ramdin b Sammy 39, Amir Khan batting 0; Extras (lb-5, nb-3): 8; Total (for five wickets in 53 overs): 206.

Fall of wickets: 1-41, 2-71, 3-93, 4-96, 5-203.

West Indies bowling: Tino Best 10-3-44-1, Sheldon Cotterrell 9-0-37-1, Darren Sammy 10-2-33-1, Veerasammy  Permaul 17-4-61-2, Narsingh Deonarine 5-0-23-0, Chris Gayle 2-1-3-0.

More In: Cricket | Sport