A dramatic first innings tie was expected to be followed by a high-voltage run chase in the second innings after Mumbai declared its second innings at 347 for six in the Ranji Trophy Group A League on Sunday. Needing to chase down the target in 63 overs, Delhi despite having in its ranks attacking batsmen like Unmukt Chand, Gautam Gambhir and Virender Sehwag settled for a draw. Unmukt and Gambhir put on a 146-run stand for the first wicket after which the latter retired after the 40th over. Unmukt went on to complete his century (106 not out, 154 balls, 14x4, 1x6). Sehwag who came in next struck five boundaries and one six in his 35 off 22 balls.

Play was called off with Delhi 198 for no loss in 48 overs.

Mumbai’s points tally is 13 after three league matches (12 points from two outright wins and one from a draw).

The scores:

Mumbai — 1st innings: 324.

Delhi —1st innings: 324.

Mumbai — 2nd innings: Kaustubh Pawar c sub (Milind) b Manan Sharma 16, Aditya Tare b Suyal 122, Wasim Jaffer c sub (Raval) b Vikas Mishra 0, Siddhesh Lad c Bist b Nehra 85, Abhishek Nayar c Bhatia b Suyal 60, Suryakumar Yadav c sub (Chauhan) b Suyal 27, Hiken Shah (not out) 10, Javed Khan (not out) 15, Extras (b-11, lb-1) 12; Total (for six wkts. decl. in 70 overs) 347.

Fall of wickets: 1-64, 2-65, 3-212, 4-250, 5-320, 6-321,

Delhi bowling: Ashish Nehra 14-1-71-1, Parvinder Awana 5-0-49-0, Pawan Suyal 13-2-52-3, Vikas Mishra 21-1-95-1, Manan Sharma 11-1-42-1, Rajat Bhatia 6-3-26-0.

Delhi — 2nd innings: Unmukt Chand (not out) 106, Gautam Gambhir retired hurt 51, Virender Sehwag (not out) 35; Extras (b-3, w-3) 6. Total (for no loss in 48 overs) 198.

Mumbai bowling: Zaheer Khan 3-0-17-0, Vishal Dabholkar 14-1-60-0, Javed Khan 11-1-37-0, Balwinder Sandhu Jr. 8-1-41-0, Abhishek Nayar 8-1-26-0, Kaustubh Pawar 4-0-14-0.


It’s advantage Delhi after second day’s playNovember 15, 2013

More In: Cricket | Sport