K. Riyaz’s 94 guided Mansur CC (Dindigul) to a four-wicket win over Vignesh Sports Juniors (Dindigul) in the first division of the TNCA-DDCA league here on Sunday.

The scores: I div.: Vignesh Sports Juniors 207 for nine in 42 overs (S. Manikandan 72, A. Sundar 30, K. Jayakanthan three for 44, A. Kennedy three for 19) lost to Mansur CC 208 for six in 33.1 overs (K. Riyaz 94, G. Sivanesan 25, T. Keerthi Kesavan 38, S. Selvakumar three for 57).

II div.: Sri Subramanya CET (Palani) 194 for four in 23 overs (M. Karlmarx 28, S. Duraimurugan 34, E. Dharamaraj 27) bt Mansur Youngsters (Dindigul) 165 for seven in 23 overs (K. Madhusoothan 77 n.o., K. Srikanth 27, M. Sivasakthi three for 35).

Kodai 87 for nine in 21 overs (V. Sakthivel 32, S. Babu three for 15) lost to Sachin (Dindigul) 88 for six in 16 overs (B. Amjath 34, G. Manikandan three for nine).

Youngstar (Nallampatti) 141 for seven in 20 overs (N. Govintharaj 33, D. Raja 44) bt Eleven Star (Dindigul) 102 in 18.3 overs.

III div.: Aim Star (Pappampatti) 176 for nine in 22 overs (V. Rajasekar 74, G. Balaji three for 32) bt Champion, Dindigul 131 for nine in 22 overs (G. Balaji 39, S. Mohan 25, R. Rajkumar three for 22, R. Balusamy four for 32).

Chinnadurai shines

Chinnadurai’s all-round effort (44 & three for 25) ensured a narrow two-wicket win for VOC XI, Tuticorin over Ramesh Flowers, Tuticorin in the TNCA-TDCA first division league in Tuticorin on Sunday.

The scores: I div: DCW, Sahupuram 149 in 40.5 overs (Mariappan 42, Edwin 35, Johnson four for 41, R. Sundar Rajan three for 23) lost to SDR, Tuticorin 151 for nine in 29.5 overs (Venugopal 29, Edwin three for 28, Raj three for 30).

Ramesh Flowers, Tuticorin 124 in 33.4 overs (K. Sivakumar 62, Chinnadurai three for 25) lost to VOC XI, Tuticorin 127 for eight in 30.5 overs (Chinnadurai 44, James Raj four for 34).

Youngstar, Tuticorin 107 in 31.2 overs (Kathir 25, Santhanaraj 25, Rajesh four for 13, Esakki Muthu three for 22) bt Classic, Tuticorin 94 in 32 overs (Karnan 25, Thangaraj four for 23).

III div: TRC ‘B’, Tuticorin 142 in 33 overs (Ponmariappan 49 n.o., Raju 30, Guna three for 35, Dass three for 25) bt Pope’s, Tuticorin 96 in 33.1 overs (Ganesh 31).

Easy for Nilgiris CC

Nilgiris Cricket Club scored a convincing 127-run win over Wonder XI Cricket Club in the TNCA-NDCA first division league for the K-Lite Rolling Trophy at the Lawrence School grounds in Udhagamandalam on Tuesday.

The scores: Nilgiris CC 282 for eight in 40 overs (R. Karunakaran 68, Syed Yashin Razak 51, A. Sasi 41, V. Dharamveer Singh 39, R. Timothy 32) bt Wonder XI CC 155 (J.S. Arun Kumar 38, V. Dharamveer Singh four for 25).

Handball trials

The Coimbatore District Handball Association (CDHA) will conduct the district selection trials for the under-15 boys and girls at the Kumaraguru College of Technology on December 22 at 9 a.m. For details, contact V. Albert Premkumar, Secretary, CDHA, at 9894416859.

CDVA trials

Trials to select the Coimbatore district youth team for the inter-district championship in Namakkal from December 27 to 30 will be held at the Nehru Stadium courts on December 22 at 3 p.m. Players born on or after January 1, 1992 are eligible to participate.

Selection trials

Selection trials for the Tamil Nadu junior girls hockey team will be held at SDAT Stadium, Dindigul on December 21 at 7 a.m. for the National junior girls hockey championship to be held at Hyderabad from January 4 to 13. Players born on or after 1.1.1992 are eligible to participate. For further details, contact secretary, TNWHA, G. Bhuvaneshwari at 9790602057.

Match Observer

R.S. Ramasamy, Assistant Secretary, Tamil Nadu Cricket Association, and Secretary, Salem District Cricket Association, will be the BCCI Match Observer for the India versus England T20 match at Pune on December 20.

Mukilesh excels

U. Mukilesh’s all-round show (53 & six for 39) helped Kancheepuram defeat Thoothukudi by 65 runs in the semifinals of the under-14 inter-district tournament in Tiruchendur recently.

The scores: Kancheepuram 127 in 60.2.overs (U. Mukilesh 30, R.S. Jagannath Srinivas 28, Silambarasan four for 21, Sriram three for 26) & 118 for nine in 40 overs (U. Mukilesh 53, R.S. Jagannath Srinivas 34, Jonnty Rhodes four for 30) bt Thoothukudi 102 in 68.2 overs (Alagu Karthik 38, R.S. Jagannath Srinivas three for 19) and 78 in 21 overs (Alagu Karthik 52, U. Mukilesh six for 39).

More In: Cricket | Sport