Tamil Nadu Cricket Association president N. Srinivasan called for an improved performance from the State Ranji Trophy team during his TNCA annual day speech at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium here on Saturday. He hoped that all the stands at Chepauk would be open to the public during the Champions League and the next edition of the Indian Premier League.

B. Aparajith won the prized Bishuram Memorial Trophy for the Cricketer of the Year at the function.

The TNCA president thanked R. Thyagarajan, chairman and founder, Shriram Group, for sponsoring all the TNCA teams (for the first time) in a major manner.

R. Santhanam, who will retire on June 30 as TNCA’s general manager after 43 years of service, was felicitated by Mr. Srinivasan.

K. S. Viswanthan, secretary, TNCA, read out the awards.

Some important awards: Bishnuram Medhi Trophy (Cricketer of the Year): B. Aparajith (Vijay CC); Baliah Memorial Trophy (Collegiate Cricketer of the Year) B. Indrajith (Guru Nanak College); V. Jagannathan Memorial Trophy (Best bowler in Ranji Trophy) Malolan Rangarajan (Vijay CC); T. Vasu Naidu Memorial Trophy (Best fielder in Ranji Trophy) Vijay Shankar (Vijay CC); Dr. M.A.M. Ramaswamy Endowment (Consistent Performance in Ranji Trophy) R. Prasanna (Vijay); N.N. Suvarna Memorial Trophy (Highest Aggregate in Ranji Trophy) B. Aparajith (Vijay CC); R.T. Parthasarathy Trophy (Cricketer of the Year from Districts) M. Mohammed (Dindigul), C. Subramaniam Trophy (School Cricketer of the Year) M. Siddharth (Don Bosco MHSS), S. W. De Allwis Trophy (Junior Cricketer of the Year) P. Pradosh Ranjan Paul (Kids Club MHSS, Tirupur); V. Pattabbhiraman Prize (Most Promising junior in Tamil Nadu State matches) Aditya Barooah (Santhome), Ghulam Ahmed Prize (Outstanding schoolboy cricketer in South Zone), Daryl S. Ferrario (Don Bosco), Emerging Umpire of TNCA: K. Raghuram; Emerging scorer of TNCA: L. Hari Balaji.

Women: Best Women’s Cricketer of the Year: D. Hemalatha; Promising Women’s Cricketer of the Year: S. B. Keerthana; Best Women’s Cricketer for Fielding: Nethra Iyer.

More In: Cricket | Sport