The annual day of Tiruchi District Cricket Association (TDCA) here recently saw fine performances during 2012-13 being recognised.

“Tiruchi has rich pool of talented cricketers and they should persevere to reach greater heights,” said R. Sathish, who plays for Kings XI Punjab in the Indian Premier League (IPL). He urged the young cricketers of the district to make best use of the facilities available here.

R.S. Ramasaamy, assistant secretary, Tamil Nadu Cricket Association, lauded TDCA for conducting 311 matches during 2012-13 and said that it is a phenomenal achievement.

K. Jebaraj, Deputy General Manager, Air Traffic Control, Tiruchi airport, distributed prizes in the presence of R. Ramasubbu, associate editor, Dinamalar, and P. Ilangovan, secretary, TDCA.


First division: Winner: JJ College of Engineering and Technology; Runner-up: Bishop Heber College ‘B’; Best batsman: K. Arulkumar (Southern Railway Institute); Best bowler: A.P. Rajkumar (Southern Railway Institute); Best all-rounder: C. Sarath Kumar (Supersonic Cricket Club).

Second division: Winner: St. Joseph’s College; Runner-up: Zephyr’s Cricket Club; Best batsman: M. Sathish Kumar (Saranathan College of Engineering); Best bowler: M. Basavaraja (Zephyr’s Cricket Club); Best all-rounder: M. Basavaraja; Promising youngster: M. Gokulakrishnan (Campion Cricket Club).

Third division: Winner: Golden Arrows Cricket Club; Runner-up: Golden Chariot ‘C’ Cricket Club; Best batsman: P. Nethaji (Golden Chariot ‘B’ Cricket Club); Best bowler: R. Nishanth Sakthivel (Golden Chariot ‘C’ Cricket Club); Best all-rounder: B. Manikandan (Golden Chariot ‘B’ Cricket Club); Promising youngster: N.S. Harish (Tiruchi United Cricket Club).

Fourth division: Winner: Dinamalar TVR Cricket Club; Runner-up: Tendulkar Cricket Club;

Best batsman: S. Sampath (OFT SA); Best bowler: K. Sekar (OFT SA); Best all-rounder: M. Vignesh (Dinamalar TVR); Promising youngster: A. Astle (Dolphin Cricket Club).

Fifth division: Winner: BHEL Recreation Club; Runner-up: Young Sobers Cricket Club; Best batsman: M.Raja (Jonians Cricket Club); Best bowler: Devendra Kumar Jena (HAPP SA); Best all-rounder: D.Padmanabhan (Warriors Avenue Cricket Club).

Schools league tournament: Winner: Srirangam Boys Higher Secondary School; Runner-up: Campion Anglo Indian Higher Secondary School; Best batsman: R. Santhosh Raj (Srirangam Boys HSS); Best bowler: V. Hanoosh Vijayan (Campion AI HSS); Best all-rounder: M. Kaushik Ram (Mahatma Gandhi Centenary Vidyalaya); Promising youngster: S.Sriram (Campion AI HSS).

Schools knockout tournament: Winner: Campion Anglo Indian HSS; Runner-up: Srirangam Boys HSS.