Some traditions continued even in the fifth edition of the Indian Premier League that concluded in Chennai on Sunday.

Things that did not change: Like for example, the Orange Cap holder not being able to emboss his team's name on the IPL trophy. This continued in the fifth edition too, as Chris Gayle, for all his stupendous sixes and blazing efforts, couldn't take Royal Challengers Bangalore even into the play-offs.

This was the West Indian's second Orange Cap in a row, but Gayle at least had the satisfaction of wearing some medal (runner-up) last time around!

In the earlier campaigns, the man with the Orange Cap was seen on the field during the climactic stages of the competition. However, he was conspicuous by his absence in the IPL-V play-offs.

Some things do change: After the Purple Cap winners in the first two editions — Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals) and R.P. Singh (Deccan Chargers) — bowled their teams to trophy triumphs, the trend has been reversed in the next three editions.

It was Sunil Narine's purple patch that rubbed off on Kolkata Knight Riders more than Morne Morkel's Purple Cap effort for Delhi Daredevils this time.

Likewise, the league phase topper has never gone on to clinch the crown, Rajasthan being the royal exception in the first edition. Shane Warne's men not only finished on top of the podium after the gruelling first phase, but continued their regal run all the way to the title.

Keywords: IPL-V

More In: Cricket | Sport | Chennai