Sachin Tendulkar will be competing with the likes of tennis star Rafael Nadal and Formula One driver Sebastian Vettel for the 2011 Laureus World Sportsman of the Year award.

Tendulkar, who was named International Cricket Council Player of the Year, will also have to fight it out with Sri Lanka's Muttiah Muralitharan for the prestigious award.

Star footballers like Diego Forlan, Andres Iniesta and Lionel Messi will also hope to become the first ever team player to win this individual award.

The names of the six Nominees for the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award will be announced in early January.

More In: Cricket | Sport