Sport » Cricket

Updated: January 26, 2010 17:05 IST

Tamim century leads spirited Bangladesh reply

K. C. Vijaya Kumar
print   ·   T  T  
Bangladesh's Tamim Iqbal celebrates his century during the second Test against India in Dhaka.
Bangladesh's Tamim Iqbal celebrates his century during the second Test against India in Dhaka.

Riding on opener Tamim Iqbal’s stirring hundred, Bangladesh scored 228 for three in its second innings against India on the third day of the second Test at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium here on Tuesday.

Tamim’s second ton - 151 (184b, 13x4, 3x6), the fastest by a Bangladeshi at 101 deliveries, and his second-wicket partnership worth 200 runs with fellow-southpaw Junaid Siddiqui (55, 143b, 5x4), helped Bangladesh whittle down the overall deficit to 83 runs.

Earlier India declared at 544 for eight at lunch. Skipper M.S. Dhoni’s 89 guided the innings as he along with the tail, stretched India’s first innings lead over Bangladesh by 311 runs. Dhoni was out stumped to part-timer Raqibul Hasan at the stroke of lunch.

The scores

Bangladesh – Ist innings: 233

India – 1st innings: G. Gambhir c Mushfiqur b Shafiul 68 (83b, 9x4), V. Sehwag c Mushfiqur b Shahadat 56 (63b, 8x4), R. Dravid (retd. hurt) 111, (188b, 12x4), S. Tendulkar c Kayes b Shakib 143 (182b, 13x4, 1x6), M. Vijay c Mahmudullah b Shakib 30 (49b, 3x4), M.S. Dhoni st Mushfiqur b Raqibul 89 (167b, 9x4, 2x6), Harbhajan c Mushfiqur b Shafiul 13 (23b, 2x4), Zaheer c Shahadat b Shafiul 0 (10b), Ishant c Mushfiqur b Ashraful 13 (53b, 3x4), P. Ojha (batting) 1 (11b). Extras (b-3, lb-6, w-1, nb-10): 20. Total (for eight wickets decl., in 133 overs): 544.

Fall of wickets: 1-103 (Sehwag), 2-146 (Gambhir), 3-421 (Tendulkar), 4-436 (Vijay), 5-459 (Harbhajan), 6-467 (Zaheer), 7-518 (Ishant), 8-544 (Dhoni).

Bangladesh bowling: Shafiul 23-1-86-3, Shahadat 22-2-91-1, Rubel 28-1-115-0, Shakib 34-3-118-2, Ashraful 9-0-38-1, Mahmudullah 15-0-78-0, Siddique 1-0-9-0, Raqibul 1-1-0-1.

Bangladesh – 2nd innings: Tamim c Dhoni b Zaheer 151 (184b, 13x4, 3x6), I. Kayes c (sub) Karthik b Zaheer 5 (15b, 1x4), J. Siddiqui c Dhoni b Zaheer 55 (143b, 5x4), Shahadat (batting) 2 (13b), M. Ashraful (batting) 2 (5b). Extras (b-7, lb-4, w-2): 13. Total (for three wickets in 60 overs): 228.

Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Kayes), 2-219 (Siddiqui), 3-222 (Tamim).

India bowling: Zaheer 14-1-63-3, Ishant 11-2-38-0, Harbhajan 17-3-59-0, Ojha 11-1-46-0, Sehwag 7-2-11-0.


Yuvraj doubtful for first SA TestJanuary 26, 2010

Kirsten lauds TamimJanuary 26, 2010

Tamim Iqbal leads Bangladesh fightbackJanuary 27, 2010

More In: Cricket | Sport

Listen to The Hindu's Sports Editor Nirmal Shekar speak to our Sports-Writer Arun Venugopal on India's showing at the Commonweath Games — with a guest appearance by golden girl Dipika Pallikal — India's tour of England, the Jadeja-Anderson controversy and more....Listen in »






Recent Article in Cricket

Opening batsman Chris Rogers and Shane Watson raised their half-centuries soon after lunch but were both out within minutes of each other.

India strike twice to restrict Australia

India's bowlers fought back with two quick wickets to restrict Australia to 174-3 at tea on day one of the third test in Melbourne on Fr... »