Hyderabad swamped last year’s winner Karnataka by nine wickets and Goa pipped runner-up Kerala by two runs to record their second wins in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy South Zone Twenty20 tournament league matches here on Tuesday.

In another match, Tamil Nadu beat Andhra by 32 runs via the VJD method after rain interrupted play at Chintalavalasa near Vizianagaram.

P. Ashish Reddy (69, 48b, 7x4, 2x6) and Hanuma Vihari (64, 49b, 9x4) guided Hyderabad home with an unbeaten 122-run stand for the second wicket.

Earlier, Karnataka was restricted to 140 with only Robin Uthappa (64, 45b, 8x4, 1x6) scoring freely and captain R. Vinay Kumar smashing 34 quick runs in the end. Ashish Reddy and Vihari picked up two wickets each and Akash Bhandari, Kanishk Naidu and Ravi Kiran one each.

Opener V.A. Jagadeesh and Padmanabhan Prashant batted well but Kerala lost narrowly to Goa. Harshad Gadekar claimed three wickets and Amit Yadv and Misal chipped in with two each. A.S. Asnodkar (64, 45b, 5x4, 3x6) and Sagun Kamath, who scored his second consecutive fifty (55, 44b,7x4,1x6) put on 90 for the opening stand in Goa’s total of 149 for seven.

Tamil Nadu was 39 for one in the sixth over when rain halted play. After the game resumed, Murali Vijay made 54 (40b, 4x4,3x6) and B. Aparajith 41. Dinesh Karthik slammed 27 off 10 balls (4x1, 3x6) to help Tamil Nadu reach 157 for seven in 17 overs.

The target for Andhra was set at 159 according to VJD method but the host slumped after the start, losing half of the side for 66 to left-arm spinner Rahul and M. Mohammed.

The scores:

Goa 149 for seven in 20 overs (S.A. Asnodkar 64, Sagun Kamat 55) bt Kerala 147 for eight in 20 overs (Padmanabhan Prasanth 43 n.o., V.A. Jagadeesh 42, Harshad Gadekar three for 16). Goa 4, Kerala 0.

Karnataka 140 in 20 overs (Robin Uthappa 64, R. Vinay Kumar 34) lost to Hyderabad 141 for one in 17.3 overs (P. Ashish Reddy 69 n.o., Hanuma Vihari 64 n.o.). Hyderabad 4, Karnataka 0.

Tamil Nadu 157 for seven in 17 overs (Murali Vijay 54, B. Aparajith 41, Dinesh Karthik 27, D. Sivakumar three for 26) bt Andhra 126 in 15.2 overs (K. Sreekanth 42, Rahil Shah four for 26) by 32 runs (Andhra was set a target of 159 under VJD method). Tamil Nadu 4 points, Andhra 0

More In: Cricket | Sport