Goa defeated Andhra by 77 runs, thanks to four-wicket hauls by off-spinner Amit Yadav and medium-pacer Harshad Gadekar, at the ACA North Zone Academy ground, Chintalavalasa (Vizianagaram) here on Thursday. This was Goa’s third win in three matches and it is on top of the table in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy South Zone T20 tournament on Thursday.

At the ACA-VDCA stadium, Tamil Nadu beat Hyderabad by 30 runs while last year’s runner-up Kerala jolted defending champion Karnataka by 20 runs to record its first win.

Andhra, chasing Goa’s 141, succumbed meekly. After M.G. Gawas removed K.S. Bharat, Gadekar and Yadav reduced Andhra to 23 for seven. Only D. Sivakumar and K. Harish entered double figures. Misal, too, picked up a wicket.

Earlier, Andhra began well after Goa decided to bat. Sivakumar snared the in-form batsmen, Sagun Kamat and S.A. Asnodkar, while D. Swaroop Kumar claimed two wickets as Goa was tottering at 69 for five. However, wicketkeeper Keenan Vaz pulled Goa out of trouble with a breezy 53 (27b, 8x4, 1x6), adding 58 runs for the sixth wicket with Gadekar.

Tamil Nadu, after being put in, was rocked by a double strike by P. Ashish Reddy with the total reading 35. However, B. Indrajith with Einstein added 41 for the fourth wicket, and later V. Shankar pushed the score along to help Tamil Nadu reach 139 for nine.

Hyderabad, while chasing the target, failed to recover after losing the openers to Sunil Sam and Rahil Shah. M. Prabhu’s twin strike and Shankar’s two wickets in the 15th over sealed the issue in Tamil Nadu’s favour. Only Sandeep Rajan (34) played a fighting knock for Hyderabad.

Karnataka, chasing Kerala’s modest total of 124 for six, went off the rails early after U. Manukrishnan removed Robit Uthappa and K.L. Rahul in the second and fourth overs of the innings.

Kerala bowlers picked up wickets at regular intervals as Karnataka was shot out for 104.

The scores:

At Vizianagaram: Goa 141 in 20 overs (Keenan Vaz 53) bt Andhra 64 in 14.5 overs (Amit Yadav four for 15, Harshad Gadekar four for 19). Goa 4 points, Andhra 0.

At Visakhapatnam: Tamil Nadu 139 for nine in 20 overs (B. Indrajith 37, B. Aparajith 28) bt Hyderabad 109 in 18.3 overs (Sandeep Rajan 34, M. Prabhu three for 24). Tamil Nadu 4 points, Hyderabad 0.

Kerala 124 for six in 20 overs (R. Prem 44 n.o., Vishnu Vinod 33, P.M. Anfal 25, R. Vinay Kumar three for 18) bt Karnataka 104 in 18.4 overs. Kerala 4, Karnataka 0.

More In: Cricket | Sport