South Zone lifted the inter-University inter-Zonal championship for the Vizzy Trophy, after thrashing North Zone by seven wickets in the four-day final at the Wankhede Stadium, here on Saturday.

South was the front-runner on Friday having taken a handy 177-run first-innings lead and then reducing North to 280 for seven in its second knock.

On Saturday, South continued its good work by grabbing North's last three wickets for the addition of just 52 runs.

Set a target of 156 for victory, South made 158 for three with H. Srikanth completing his second half-century of the match and Rohan Yadav scoring an unbeaten 40. South reached the target in the 42nd over.

The scores:

North Zone 365 & 332 (Ravinder Singh 48, Dhruv Shaurya 96, Abhishek Gupta 73, H. Satyawan 50 n.o., S. Daniel six for 128) lost to South Zone 542 & 158 for three (H. Srikanth 88, Rohan Yadav 40 n.o.).

Keywords: Vizzy Trophy

More In: Cricket | Sport