Bengal pacer A.R. Singh picked up four for 54 to reduce Railways to 189 for nine wickets at stumps on the first day of their four-day Cooch Behar Trophy (under-19) Plate group knockout match at Kalyani on Friday.

Captain Abhishek Yadav provided the lone resistance for Railways with a quickfire 65 (92b, 6x4, 3x6).

The winner of this match will be promoted to the Elite division.

The scores:

Railways 189 for nine in 77 overs (Abhishek Yadav 65, R. Sharma 29; R. Singh three for 81, A.R. Singh four for 54).

More In: Cricket | Sport