The depleted host faces an uphill task of avoiding a whitewash

Kumar Sangakkara reached his maiden test triple-century on Wednesday to lead Sri Lanka to a mammoth first innings score of 587 on the second day of the second test against Bangladesh.

Sangakkara reached the landmark in emphatic fashion by hitting consecutive sixes over the long-off and mid-wicket fences off Shakib Al Hasan. He was the last batsman out, for 319, as Sri Lanka posted a daunting total of 587.

Bangladesh reached 86-1 at stumps in reply, with Shamsur Rahman on 45 and Imrul Kayes adding 36.

Tamim Iqbal was the only batsman to go for a duck after Sri Lanka fast bowler Suranga Lakmal produced a delivery that kept low.

Sangakkara became the third Sri Lanka player to score a triple—century, joining Mahela Jayawardene and Sanath Jayasuriya.

Scoreboard at stumps:

Dimuth Karunaratne c Mahmud Ullah b Al—Amin Hossain 31

Kaushal Silva lbw Sohag Gazi 11

Kumar Sangakkara c Sohag Gazi b Nasir 319

Mahela Jayawardene lbw Mahmud Ullah 72

Dinesh Chandimal c Kayes b Shakib Al Hasan 27

Angelo Mathews b Shakib Al Hasan 5

Kithuruwan Vithanage lbw Nasir Hossain 35

Dilruwan Perera lbw Shakib Al Hasan 1

Ajantha Mendis lbw Shakib Al Hasan 47

Suranga Lakmal lbw Shakib Al Hasan 0

Nuwan Pradeep not out 4

Extras: (21b, 6lb, 2w, 1nb, 5 penalties ) 35.

TOTAL: (all out) 587.

Overs: 156.4.

Fall of wickets: 1—39, 2—49, 3—227, 4—294, 5—312, 6—402, 7—405, 8—505, 9—533, 10—587.

Bowling: Al—Amin Hossain 25—5—81—1 (1nb), Sohag Gazi 48—4—181—1, Abdur Razzak 4—1—6—0, Shakib Al Hasan 34—3—148—5 (1w), Mahmud Ullah 34—2—110—1 (1w), Nasir Hossain 6.4—0—16—2, Shamsur Rahman 1—0—5—0, Mominul Haque 4—0—8—0.

Tamim Iqbal b Lakmal 0

Shamsur Rahman not out 45

Imrul Kayes not out 36

Extras: (5nb) 5

TOTAL: (one wicket) 86.

Overs: 25.

Fall of wickets: 1—0.

Still to bat: Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Nasir Hossain, Mahmud Ullah, Sohag Gazi, Abdur Razzak, Al—Amin Hossain.

Bowling: Suranga Lakmal 5—0—18—1, Nuwan Pradeep 7—2—29—0 (3nb), Ajantha Mendis 4—1—13—0 (2nb), Dilruwan Perera 7—2—22—0, Angelo Mathews 2—0—4—0.

Umpires: Nigel Llong, England, and Paul Reiffel , Australia.

TV Umpire: Anisur Rahman, Bangladesh. Match Referee- David Boon, Australia.


Bangladesh 409-8 against Sri LankaFebruary 6, 2014

More In: Cricket | Sport