Centuries by Sachin Sohal (108 batting) and Mohit Handa (100 batting) helped Punjab score 311 for three against Hyderabad on the first day of the four-day all-India Cooch Behar Trophy Elite Group, here on Thursday.

Sachin and Mohit put on an unbroken 189 runs of 299 balls for the fourth wicket to keep the home team bowlers at bay.

Washed out

The first day's play in the Elite ‘C' match between Tamil Nadu and Andhra was washed out due to continual rain in Chennai on Thursday.

Tripura bowled out

At Kolkata, Bengal pacers skittled out Tripura for 196 in 71.5 overs on the opening day of a group ‘B' game at Kalyani.

In reply, Bengal ended the day at 43 for no loss.

Aiming for at least first innings lead to escape relegation, Jharkhand opted to bat first against Kerala and ended the day at 257 for three — opener Vishal Singh scoring 96 — in an Elite group ‘B' match at Ranchi.

Odisha was 58 for no loss against Railways' first inning total of 306 at Cuttack in a Plate ‘A' group match.

Looking for full points to qualify for the Elite division next season, Haryana restricted Assam to 268 for eight in a Plate group ‘A' match at Dibrugarh.

At Mysore, responsible knocks from middle-order batsman K.V. Siddarth (63 n.o.) and Shreyas Gopal (49 n.o.), helped Karnataka reach 244 for four in 93 overs, in their first innings against Saurashtra on the opening day on Thursday.

Electing to bat, Karnataka lost skipper R. Samarth (4) early, but the second wicket partnership of 108 between Rohan Kadam (69, 10x4s) and Samarth Ooty (49, 5x4s) took them to safety.

The scores:

At Hyderabad: Punjab 311 for three in 90 overs (Manan Vohra 49, Sachin Sohal 108 batting, Love Kumar 42, Mohit Handa 100 batting) vs Hyderabad.

At Kalyani: Tripura 196 in 71.5 overs (Mora Singh 88, T. Rudra Paul 36; Ravikant Singh four for 81, Alok Pratap Singh five for 50) vs.Bengal 43 for no loss in 10 overs.

At Ranchi: Jharkhand 257 for three in 90 overs (Vishal Singh 96, Pappy Yadav 51, Ajatshatru Singh 55) vs. Kerala.

At Cuttack: Railways 306 in 67.1 overs (A. Nair 73, A. Yadav 100, A. Pandey 52, H. Pati four for 94, A. Rout three for 41) vs. Odisha 58 for no loss in 20 overs.\

At Dibrugarh: Assam 268 for eight in 90 overs (M. Gogoi 66, Shashank Negi 95; Poonish Mehta three for 61) vs. Haryana.

At Mysore: Karnataka 244 for four in 93 overs (Rohan Kadam 69, K.V. Siddarth 63 n.o, Samarth Ooty 49, Shreyas Gopal 49 n.o.) v Saurashtra.