Off-spinner M. Prabhu starred, as Tamil Nadu forced Railways to follow on during the third and penultimate day of the under-22 C.K. Nayudu Trophy match here.

Prabhu finished with figures of six for 23 to help Tamil Nadu dismiss Railways for 106 and gain a 430-run first innings lead.

During a phase of 14.1 overs on Wednesday, Tamil Nadu gained six wickets.

Railways, on 81 for four overnight, crumbled. Left-arm spinner R. Aushik Srinivas complemented Prabhu’s first-innings performance with two wickets.

Aushik, however, played the lead role in Railways’ second innings, claiming three wickets to Prabhu’s one.

Railways put on a better batting display to score 214 for four in 73 overs.

Prashant Awasthi made 61 (74b, 5x4, 2x6). Captain and left-hand batsman Karan Sharma remained unbeaten on 46.

At Mumbai, G. Satish (165 batting, 305b, 22x4, 1x6), Kunal Kapoor (74) and Rahul Kannur (87) steered Karnataka to the first innings lead against Mumbai.

The visitor finished the day at 410 for four in reply to Mumbai’s 392.

Punjab gained a vital 64-run lead against Bengal at Kolkata. Chasing 251, Punjab posted 315.

Sumit Sharma made an unbeaten 49 and added 94 with Gaurav Gambhir (53) for the seventh wicket.

Bengal was 149 for five in its second essay at close.

At Visakhapatnam, Tripura was 201 for six in its second innings, still needing 123 to make Andhra bat again. Sourabh Dubey was unbeaten on 59.

The scores:

At Chennai: Tamil Nadu 536 for nine decl. vs. Railways 106 in 54.1 overs (Mohd. Arif 26, Karan Sharma 40, M. Prabhu six for 23) and 214 for four in 73 overs (Mohd. Arif 26, Avishek Bhowmick 29, Prashant Awasthi 61, Karan Sharma 46 batting, Rakesh Mishra 26 batting, R. Aushik Srinivas three for 47).

At Mumbai: Mumbai 392 vs. Karnataka 410 for four (G. Satish 165 batting, K. Kapoor 74, R. Kannur 87, Iqbal Abdulla three for 124).

At Kolkata: Bengal 251 and 149 for five (Rohan Banerjee 42, Writam Porel 54 batting, Rajwinder Singh five for 51) vs. Punjab 315 (Sumit Sharma 49 n.o., Gaurav Gambhir 53, M. Ashrafuddin three for 49, S.S. Mondal three for 66).

At Visakhapatnam: Tripura 98 and 201 for six in 93 overs (Sourabh Dubey 59 batting, Samrat Sinha 37, Amit Das 34) vs. Andhra 421 for five decl.

More In: Cricket | Sport