Pakistan Cricket Board on Monday constituted a three-member appellate tribunal of retired judges to hear any appeal from the seven cricketers banned or fined by the PCB recently.

The members of the panel are retired judges Jamshed Ali Shah, Irfan Qadir and Munir A. Sheikh.

A board official, however, said no cricketer has filed any appeal though the notices informing the players about their bans and fines had been sent to them by the PCB.

Seven players, including former captains Younis Khan and Mohammad Yousuf, were banned or fined by the PCB on the recommendation of an inquiry committee which probed the causes behind Pakistan’s disastrous tour of Australia.

Younis and Yousuf were banned for an indefinite period while Shoaib Malik and Rana Naved ul-Hasan were handed one year bans. Shahid Afridi and Kamran Akmal were fined Rs 3 million each while Umar Akmal was fined Rs 2 million.

Naved said so far he had not received any official notification from the board informing him about the reasons for the ban.

“Look I can only decide whether to appeal against the ban or fine when I know what is my crime for which I am being punished,” he said.


Afridi to lead Pakistan in World Twenty20March 23, 2010

More In: Cricket | Sport