Mithun Manhas showcased his ability in T20 cricket with a quick-fire 63 off 31 balls as ONGC downed Reliance I by five wickets to enter the final at the 10th All India Dr. D.Y. Patil T20 Cup, at the D.Y. Patil stadium, Nerul, on Saturday.

BPCL won the second semifinal, defeating Indian Oil by six runs due to efforts from bowlers Kiran Adhav (4-18) and Jaydev Unadkat (3-13).

Chasing a target of 137 to win against Reliance I, ONGC were in trouble at 12-2. Consistent Tanmay Srivastava (39 off 35 balls) played the expected supporting role as Manhas took charge, slamming five sixes, five fours and clinching semifinal victory.

Vikramjit Malik (2-17) and Sumeet Narwal (2-31) were the main wicket-takers for ONGC, as Reliance hitters were kept in check earlier in the day.

BPCL’s six-run victory happened due to a team effort against Indian Oil in another semifinal. Suryakumar Yadav (48 off 30 balls, 6x4, 2x6) and Vinit Indulkar (37 off 27 balls, 4x4) made a late charge to boost team score to fighting 175 in 20 overs.

Indian Oil planned their chase in an organised manner, helped by efforts from Ravikhant Shukla (53), Abbas Ali (37) and Wasim Jaffer (35) when BPCL bowlers Adhav and Unadkat struck to restrict the score to 169-9.

Semifinal scores: BPCL 175-7 in 20 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 48, Vinit Indulkar 37, Bhavin Thakkar 28) bt Indian Oil 169-9 in 20 overs (Ravikant Shukla 53, Abbas Ali 37, Wasim Jaffer 35; Kiran Adhav 4/18, Jaydev Unadkat 3/13) by six runs.

Reliance-1: 136-8 in 20 overs (Yogesh Nagar 44, Yousuf Pathan 43; Vikramjit Malik 2/17, Sumeet Narwal 2/31) lost to ONGC 138-5 in 16.1 overs (Mithun Manhas 63, Tanmay Srivastava 39; Pawan Suyal 2/18) by five wickets.

More In: Cricket | Sport