All the incumbent office bearers, including the executive committee members, retained their posts during the annual general meeting of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium on Sunday.

Since there were no contests, all the members retained their positions unanimously.

There was no challenger for TNCA president N. Srinivasan on the floor of the house.

During the meeting, two important unanimous resolutions were passed by the TNCA.

Change in first division format

They pertained to changes in the first-division format and the permission for two outstation cricketers in each team, to take part in the league (both were first reported in The Hindu).

The 12 teams of the first division will be split into two sets of six teams each.

After an initial league stage, the top three teams in each group will progress to a round robin league phase that will be followed by the semifinals and the final.

And the bottom three sides in each group will figure in the six team plate competition in a league-cum-knock-out format.

The Elite Group winner will bag the Raja of Palayampatti Shield, and the top side in the Plate Group will receive the S.R. Jagannathan Trophy.

To promote young talent, the inclusion of one State under-19 player in every side during the first phase of the first division league was made mandatory.

Two outstation players allowed

Two outstation cricketers (in each team) will be permitted from the first to the sixth divisions.

Some notable cricketers, including India off-spinner Parvez Rasool for Jolly Rovers, will feature in the league.

The first division league for the year 2014-2015 starts on July 4.

More In: Cricket | Sport