The composition of India’s senior selection committee will be the centre of attention at Thursday’s BCCI Annual General Meeting 2012, amidst numerous items on the agenda.

Selectors’ chairman K. Srikkanth’s tenure is over and the new head of the national selection panel will be named.

The former India Test captain’s exit will also result in the choice of a new person as the South Zone selector, apart from changes in four out of five zones where current zonal representatives on the men’s selection panel have completed their four-year tenure.

Mohinder factor

Mohinder Amarnath, representing North Zone on the panel, has completed only one year and is due for re-appointment. As the only existing selector, his continuation and probable elevation as chairman will depend on support from Board members. Continuity will help take the process forward in case he is retained and due to his cricketing achievements at the highest level.

Vikram Rathore, ex-India opener and Punjab Ranji team coach, could run him close, among North contenders.

Replacements for Srikkanth (South), Narendra Hirwani (Central), Raja Venkat (East) and Surendra Bhave (West) will be decided at the Board AGM and a new panel will be announced.

Roger Binny, ex-India allrounder and teammate of Srikkanth, Amarnath on the 1983 WC squad, may emerge as the South Zone front-runner. Abey Kuruvilla, chairman of the national junior selectors panel and ex-India paceman, enjoys the confidence of Mumbai Cricket Association which recently named him as the MCA senior selection committee head.

Multiple names are being discussed from East Zone (Devang Gandhi, Debashish Mohanty and Deep Dasgupta) and Central (Sunil Chaturvedi, Rajinder Singh Hans and Gyanendra Pandey).

Each senior selector gets Rs. 40 lakh by the Board annually and Rs. 20 lakh for selectors on the junior panel, so eventually the decision of appointing paid selectors rests with the BCCI.

Other items on agenda

Other key items on agenda for the AGM at Cricket Centre includes appointment of women’s selectors panel (currently headed by Gargi Banerjee), consider recommendations by various committees (working/standing/sub-committee), election of various committees, consider important decisions by finance committee, adoption of audited statements of accounts for 2011-2012.

Also on the agenda are adoption of reports from secretary and treasurer, consider issues relating to associations, confirmation of minutes of 2011 AGM and appointment of BCCI representative for ICC and Asian Cricket Council meetings.


Patil appointed ChairmanSeptember 27, 2012

More In: Cricket | Sport