Off-spinner Malolan Rangarajan’s six for 49 enabled TNCA President’s XI crush Hyderabad by 225 runs in a quarterfinal match of the Kalpathi Buchi Babu all-India tournament here on Sunday.

For the host, wicket-keeper R. Karthik Adithya excelled behind the stumps with a hand in five dismissals (four catches and a stumping). Apart from Amol Shinde’s 74 (93b, 12x4), there was little resistance for Hyderabad.

In the semifinals on August 27 and 28, TNCA President’s XI will meet TNCA XI while Uttar Pradesh CA will take on Kerala.

Skipper Ravichandran Ashwin led TNCA XI from the front following his crucial innings of 60 with five for 42 bowling off-spin. Pursuing 262, Andhra, despite a fighting 102 (187b, 13x4) from No. 3 D.B. Prasanth Kumar, was bowled out for 192.

Prasanth and Ricky Bhui (57, 128b, 5x4, 1x6) raised 111 runs in 38.2 overs for the sixth wicket but TNCA XI found the right answers.

In a laudable chase, Kerala surpassed Haryana’s 352 for the loss of only three wickets. Opener Niklesh Surendran made 134 (220b, 20x4), putting on 119 runs for the first wicket in 34.4 overs with Abhishek Hegde (42) and 131 with Robert Fernandez (85 not out, 141b, 6x4, 1x6) in 33.4 for the third wicket.

Then, Fernandez and the left-handed Sachin Baby (60 not out, 73b, 7x4) gathered 84 in 18.4 for the unbroken fourth wicket.

Riding on an unbeaten 104-run fifth wicket association in 17.3 overs between Umang Sharma (42) and Akshdeep Nath (61 not out, 61b, 5x4, 2x6) in a chase of 231, Uttar Pradesh defeated Karnataka by six wickets. Earlier, skipper Mohammed Kaif made a combative 60 (119b, 6x4, 1x6).

The scores: Quarterfinals (Innings restricted to 100 overs each side, Day two): Karnataka 230 lost to Uttar Pradesh CA 231 for four in 62 overs (Tanmay Srivatsava 54, Mohammed Kaif 60, Umang Sharma 42 not out, Akshdeep Nath 61 not out). Uttar Pradesh qualifies.

TNCA XI 261 beat Andhra 192 in 70.2 overs (D.B. Prasanth Kumar 102, Ricky Bhui 57, R. Ashwin five for 42). TNCA XI qualifies.

Haryana 352 for nine lost to Kerala 355 for three in 89.1 overs (Abhishek Hedge 42, Niklesh Surendran 134, Robert Fernandez 85 not out, Sachin Baby 60 not out). Kerala qualifies.

TNCA President’s XI 396 for nine bt Hyderabad 171 in 62.1 overs (Amol Shinde 74, Hanuma Vihari 30, Malolan Rangarajan six for 49). TNCA President’s XI qualifies.

More In: Cricket | Sport