Local youngster D. Siva Kumar scored his maiden century, an unbeaten one, in the Ranji Trophy as Andhra scored 393 against Goa at the ACA-VDCA stadium here on Sunday.

The visitor had its own hero in Saurab Bandekar, the medium pacer, who made best use of the conditions to record his sixth five-wicket haul in first class cricket.

Goa ended day two of the group C match at 72 for one off 31 overs against some fine bowling by the Andhra medium pacers.

The experienced Amol Mazumdar (88, 11x4), who was guiding the Andhra innings, was unfortunate to miss out on another century after being trapped in front by Bandekar.

Siva Kumar, meanwhile, showed a lot of conviction and stuck to the basics; his on and cover drives were the pick of his strokes. His 106 came off 195 balls with 12 fours and one six.

Muzumdar and Siva Kumar, playing his 12th Ranji match, resumed the day’s proceedings at 240 for five. Their 124-run stand came at the right time.

In reply, Sagun Kamat (41 batting), Swapnil Asnodkar and the young Amogh Desai (12 batting), had a tough time against the Andhra medium pacers.

Goa’s task now would be to take the first innings lead as unless the pitch takes turn, the match is likely to end in a draw. Goa captain and left-arm spinner Shadab Jakati was restrictive but not a real threat and how the pitch behaves on the last day would be interesting.

“It was a great feeling to score my first century in a match that is important for my team,” Siva Kumar said later.

He was fortunate to have the experienced Amol as his partner in a long stand. “It is a worthy experience for me. He (Amol) gave me a lot of tips and guided me on how to play a long innings and deal with pressure.”

The scores: Andhra — 1 innings: D.B. Prashanth Kumar (run out) 48, Hemal Vatekar c Manvinder Bisla b Saurabh Bandekar 0, K.S. Shahabuddin b Harshad Gadekar 49, B. Sumanth lbw b Bandekar 21, Amol Muzumdar lbw b Bandekar 88, A.G. Pradeep c and b Bandekar 30, D. Sivakumar (not out) 106, T. Atchuta Rao c Amogh Desai b Bandekar 0, Sk.M. Basha c Bisla b Gadekar 10, T. Vamsi Krishna c Ravikant Shukla b Gadekar 16, P. Vijay Kumar lbw b Gadekar 4; Extras (b-9, lb-4, nb-4, w-4): 21; Total (in 137.1 overs): 393.

Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-74, 3-116, 4-137, 5-194, 6-318, 7-320, 8-350, 9-378.

Goa bowling: Saurabh S. Bandekar 38-6-107-5, Harshad H. Gadekar 32.1-13-97-4, Shadab Jakati 38-9-106-0, Sher Bahadur Yadav 18-2-65-0, Amogh S. Desai 1-0-5-0.

Goa — 1 innings: Sagun Kamat (batting) 41, Swapnil Asnodkar c Vamsi Krishna b Siva Kumar 13, Amogh Desai (batting) 12; Extras (lb-5, nb-1): 6. Total (for one wicket in 72 overs): 72.

Fall of wicket: 1-43.

Andhra bowling: Shahabuddin 7-2-18-0, Vijay Kumar 11-3-21-0, Atchuta Rao 3-0-11-0, Siva Kumar 6-3-6-1, Basha 3-0-9-0, Vatekar 1-0-2-0.

Keywords: Ranji Trophy

More In: Cricket | Sport