Kapil Dev and M.S. Dhoni, two of India’s World Cup winning skippers, posed together with their historic trophies at the BCCI seventh annual awards function.

The 1983 and 2011 World Cup captains also exchanged their respective trophies, signifying the similarity in achievement from two cricketers who changed the way world cricket looked at India.

Kapil was earlier honoured by the Board with the C.K. Nayudu Trophy for Lifetime Achievement. “I like to thank all captains whom I played with from Bishan Bedi to Mohammad Azharuddin, for believing in me. For those who played under me, I appreciate their support,” remarked the Indian cricket icon.

“For the Indian cricket team about to go on a tour (to New Zealand), I want to wish them all the best.”

He continued: “When you are young and playing, awards don’t matter as you are filled with passion for the game. It is only now when an honour like this comes your way, by way of appreciation from your own Board that increases the sense of happiness.”

The audience was treated to an audio-visual capturing the essence of  Kapil’s achievement as a versatile performer and inspirational leader.

R. Ashwin stepped on stage to receive the Polly Umrigar Trophy from BCCI president N. Srinivasan. “I am happy and proud to be on this stage where legends of Indian cricket have been honoured. It would not have been possible without my teammates,” said the Indian off-spinner, named the Best International Cricketer for 2012-13.

Former India spin ace Bapu Nadkarni and wicket-keeper/batsman Farokh Engineer could not attend due to health problems.

The wife of late Eknath Solkar, a gritty batsman and an outstanding fielder of his generation, accepted the award for Special Contribution.  

Indian and domestic cricketers, senior and junior players were also felicitated. Sachin Tendulkar was present in the audience.

The awardees:

C.K. Nayudu Trophy for Lifetime Achievement: Kapil Dev.

Polly Umrigar Award for Best International Cricket 2012-13: R. Ashwin.

Best Woman Cricketer: M.D. Thirushkamini.

Lala Amarnath Award for Best Ranji all-rounder 2012-13: Abhishek Nayar (Mumbai).

Highest Ranji run-getter: Jiwanjot Singh Chouhan (Punjab); Highest Ranji wicket-taker: Ishwar Pandey (Madhya Pradesh).

Best U-25 cricketer in C.K. Nayudu Trophy: Karn Sharma (Railways).

Best U-19 cricketer at Cooch Behar Trophy: Aksar Patel (Gujarat).

Best U-16 cricketer in Vijay Merchant Trophy: Arman Jaffer (Mumbai).

Best umpire in domestic cricket: C. Shamsuddin.

Best Overall Performance: Mumbai Cricket Association.

Best India Player in 2013-14 Test series vs West Indies: Rohit Sharma.

Special award for outstanding contribution to cricket: Bapu Nadkarni, Farokh Engineer and late Eknath Solkar.

More In: Cricket | Sport