Former captain Mahela Jayawardene has opted out of the Twenty20 and one-day international series against Pakistan starting next month citing personal reasons, Sri Lanka Cricket announced on Monday.

The two teams are scheduled to play two Twenty20s and five ODIs in the United Arab Emirates starting from December 11.

Officials released the squads for the two series which will be followed by a three-match test series.

Left-arm spinner Rangana Herath has been left out of the Twenty20 squad saying he has been rested considering the number of matches he will play ahead of World Cup 2015, the statement said.

The Squad:

Twenty20: Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Lasith Malinga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kithruwan Vithanage, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Seekkuge Prasanna, Suranga Lakmal, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Ramith Rambukwella.

ODI: Angelo Mathews (Captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Ashan Priyanjana, Kithruwan Vithanage, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Seekuge Prasanna.

More In: Cricket | Sport