Dismissed for zero is an embarrassing moment for a batsman in any form of cricket. — Test, One-Day International or Twenty20 cricket.

The Indian Premier League has seen batsmen being dispatched without opening their account 437 times in five seasons and 23 matches in the sixth season until Wednesday. The batsman-dismissed-for-zero tally has touched 38 this season.

The inaugural IPL season in 2008 saw 70 batsmen getting out bowled. It was 93 in 2009 in South Africa, 70 in 2010, 93 in 2011 and 73 in 2012, and all the 38 this season.

Of the 10 teams that have played the IPL (Kochi Tuskers are out of the picture now), batsmen who have turned out in the Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Daredevils colours have seen their stumps knocked down 60 times each.

It’s actually: RCB: 67 played, 35 batsmen dismissed for zero 60 times. The corresponding figures for the other teams are: CSK: 46/18/37; DD: 58/32/60; SRH: 66/28/54; RR: 67/30/49; Kochi Tuskers: 20/9/14; KKR: 61/25/43; KXIP: 59/29/42; MI: 64/32/50; PWI: 39/14/28.

Manish Pandey and Amit Mishra have been dismissed for zero eight times each, Jacques Kallis, Adam Gilchrist, Parthiv Patel, Shane Warne and Rahul Sharma seven times, Piyush Chawla, Praveen Kumar, T. Dilshan and Mithun Manhas six times and R.P. Singh, Manoj Tiwary, Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, A.B. de Villiers, Ashoke Dinda, Naman Ojha, Rohit Sharma, Gautam Gambhir and Virender Sehwag five times.

Sixteen batsmen have been dismissed four times each, 25 batsmen thrice, 36 batsmen twice and 101 batsmen once.

Statistics reveal that on 331 occasions right-hand batsmen have been dismissed for zero as against 106 left-handers.

Players have been dismissed for zero 225 times while batting first and 212 times while chasing.

More In: Ipl 2013 | Cricket | Sport