Sport » Cricket

Updated: February 5, 2011 00:09 IST

IPL shuts the door on Ganguly

Special Correspondent
print   ·   T  T  
Sourav Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly

The IPL Governing Council (GC), on Friday, rejected an application by a franchise (reportedly Team Kochi) to buy former India captain Sourav Ganguly from the unsold Indian player group. At least three franchises objected to it.

None of the ten franchisees had shown interest in bidding for Ganguly at the auction that took place at Bangalore on January 8 and 9. He had raised his reserve price from $ 200,000 to $ 400,000.

The BCCI release said: “based on the views from the franchisees, the Governing Council decided not to make available the unsold Indian players from the auction.''

Ban for Pandey

The release also said that “based on the complaints from the franchisees and after meeting with the player, the GC has imposed a four-match ban on Manish Pandey. He's been permitted to play for the Pune Franchise, but cannot play the first four matches of IPL Season IV.” A GC member said that Pandey had violated the rules for the uncapped Indian players.

The GC also said the auction conducted at Bangalore was transparent and fair. This was in response to a letter received from M/s. India Win Sports Private Limited (Mumbai Indians) questioning the eleventh hour change in the auction rules. The release said: the GC was briefed by the operational team including IMG on all aspects of the letter.

The procedure followed in this year's auction is exactly the same as was done in all the previous IPL auctions. Representatives of all the franchisees had read the auction briefing note prepared by the IMG, which included the changes referred to, and signed the same in acceptance before the auction, including the India Win Sports Private Limited (Mumbai Indians).”

The following committees were appointed for IPL Season IV: Code of Behaviour Committee: Shashank Manohar, Arun Jaitley, Chirayu Amin, Ravi Shastri,Ajay Shirke. Technical Committee: Chirayu Amin, Mohinder Amarnath, Ravi Shastri, M.P. Pandove, Sanjay Jagdale, Ranjib Biswal. Entertainment Committee: Chirayu Amin, Rajeev Shukla, Anurag Thakur, Ranjib Biswal. Therapeutic Usage Exemption (TUE) Committee: Independent physicians arranged through International Doping Tests and Management (ITDM). Suspect Bowling Action Committee: S. Venkatraghavan, A.V. Jayaprakash, Javagal Srinath, Mohinder Amarnath.

Keywords: Sourav GangulyIPL


Pune may host 2 IPL matches in new stadiumFebruary 5, 2011

More In: Cricket | Sport

Cricket World Cup 2015 Fixtures
Cricket's most anticipated event is back. This time in Australia and New Zealand and spanning for nearly 50 days. Here's the list of scheduled matches with timings and venues.

Pages from the past Digging out some classic articles from our exhaustive archives.

That night...June 25, 1983

Field Marshal extraordinaire

Giving the boys their due

The fascinating journey with Lara

Salute to a great team in decline

Let us resolve...

It isn't cricket






Recent Article in Cricket

Teenage cricketer dies in Pakistan after hit on chest

In another tragic incident on the field, 18-year-old Zeeshan Mohammed died after being struck on the chest by a cricket ball. D... »