Almost all the established India players have been retained by their respective franchises.

Sticking to proven match-winners and fostering a semblance of continuity with previous squads were the prime motives that guided the Indian Premier League teams while they exercised the option of player retentions ahead of Friday’s deadline before getting ready for the auction here on February 12 and 13.

Delhi Daredevils, though, did not retain any player and, through a press release, stated its preference to focus on “building a fresh team that the fans can be proud of.”

If Royal Challengers Bangalore turned out to be the first outfit that announced its retentions — Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle and A.B. de Villiers — on Thursday, Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians were not far behind and quickly inked their respective deals.

As expected, CSK retained skipper M.S. Dhoni, Suresh Raina, R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Dwayne Bravo. CSK has always sought permanence in its core group and that has contributed to its success.

With CSK having exercised the maximum permitted retentions, the team’s auction-purse has shrunk from Rs.60 crore to Rs.21 crore.

Defending champion Mumbai Indians retained Rohit Sharma, Lasith Malinga, Kieron Pollard, Harbhajan Singh and Ambati Rayudu, and is expected to bid for Mitchell Johnson during the auction.

Rajasthan Royals, a team that was rocked by last year’s spot-fixing allegations around a few players like S. Sreesanth, has regrouped well under skipper Rahul Dravid, who will now don the mentor’s role.

Royals retained Shane Watson, Ajinkya Rahane, James Faulkner, Stuart Binny and Sanju Vishwanadh. Except for Watson, those on the list aren’t exactly blue-chip but their performances have merited their continuing stint with the Royals.

Kolkata Knight Riders retained just two — captain Gautam Gambhir and Sunil Narine.

King’s XI Punjab stuck to South African David Miller and the 20-year-old Manan Vohra, who scored a 187 for Punjab against Jharkhand in a recent Ranji Trophy match. The latter’s was perhaps the biggest surprise retention.

Late on Friday evening, Sunrisers Hyderabad confirmed that it has retained Shikhar Dhawan and Dale Steyn.

The retentions (read under ‘retained players’ and ‘remaining money available for auction’):

Chennai Super Kings: M.S. Dhoni, Suresh Raina, R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo. Rs.21 crore.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Lasith Malinga, Kieron Pollard, Harbhajan Singh, Ambati Rayudu. Rs.21 crore.

Rajasthan Royals: Shane Watson, Ajinkya Rahane, James Faulkner, Stuart Binny, Sanju Vishwanadh. Rs.22.5 crore.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle, A.B. de Villiers. Rs.30.5 crore.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir, Sunil Narine. Rs.38 crore.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Shikhar Dhawan, Dale Steyn. Rs.38 crore.

King’s XI Punjab: David Miller, Manan Vohra. Rs.43.5 crore.

Delhi Daredevils: no players retained. Rs.60 crore.

More In: Cricket | Sport | Ipl 2013