Tambe scalps 4, RCB skittled out for 70 in the first innings.

Royal Challengers Bangalore suffered a humiliating six wicket loss to Rajasthan Royals in an Indian Twenty20 League match at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium here on Saturday.

Veteran spinner Pravin Tambe (4—20) along with Australian pacer Kane Richardson (2—18) were the wreckers-in-chief as RCB were bowled out for a dismal 70 runs in 15 overs.

Rajasthan had little trouble chasing down the meagre score as they strolled to 71 for four in 13 overs.

India international Ajinkya Rahane (23) gave his team a quick start and it seemed Rajasthan would reach the target in no time at all.

However, Rahane, Sanju Samson (2) and Karun Nair (8) fell in quick succession to send small tremors in the Rajasthan camp.

Shane Watson (24) and Abhishek Nayar (11 not out) guided Rajasthan to the brink of victory with patient knocks before the Australian all rounder fell three runs short of the target.

Earlier, only three Bangalore batsmen registered double figure scores in a hapless performance with extras (4) being the fifth highest scorer.

This was the third lowest total in IPL after Rajasthan were on the receiving end when they were dismissed for 58 by Bangalore in 2009 while in the 2008 edition, Kolkata Knight Riders were bowled out by 67 by Mumbai Indians.

Bangalore captain Virat Kohli top scored with 21 off 25 balls as rest of the top and middle order collapsed around him.

Aussie pacer Mitchell Starc (18) and West Indies’ Ravi Rampaul (13) were the only other to get in to double figures.

After a whirlwind start to theircampaign where they blitzed their opponents in the first two matches, RCB have now lost two on the trot.

Rajasthan, meanwhile, recorded their second win in four matches to leapfrog Bangalore in the points table due to a better run rate.

Scoreboard (PTI)

Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Parthiv Patel run out 1

Yogesh Takawale c Samson b Binny 0

Virat Kohli c Southee b Tambe 21

Yuvraj Singh c Smith b Richardson 3

AB de Villiers b Richardson 0

Suresh Rana b Watson 3

Albie Morkel c Smith b Tambe 7

Mitchell Starc c Binny b Bhatia 18

Ravi Rampaul c Southee b Tambe 13

Ashok Dinda lbw b Tambe 0

Yuzvendra Chahal not out 0

Extras: (B—1 LB—2 W—1) 4

Total: (All out in 15 overs) 70

Fall of wickets: 1/1 2/1 3/5 4/5 5/17 6/28 7/46 8/62 9/70 Bowling: Stuart Binny 1—0—1—1, Tim Southee 3—0—16—0, Kane Richardson 4—0—18—2, Shane Watson 2—1—5—1, Pravin Tambe 4—0—20—4, Rajat Bhatia 1—0—7—1.

Rajasthan Royals:

A Rahane c Patel b Starc 23

K Nair c Patel b Starc 8

S Samson run out 2

A Nayar not out 11

S Watson c de Villiers b Chahal 24

S Binny not out 0

Extras (LB—1,WD—2) 3

Total (For 4 wickets in 13 overs) 71

Fall of wickets: 1—31, 2—35, 3—36, 4—68.

Bowling :M Starc 4—0—29—2, R Rampaul 4—0—16—0, Y Chahal 3—1—17—1, A Dinda 2—0—8—0. PTI AT AT 04261843


Rajasthan Royals: Shane Watson (C), Ajinkya Rahane, Sanju Samson (wk), Stuart Binny, Steve Smith, Abhishek Nayar, Kane Richardson, Rajat Bhatia, Kane Richardson, Karun Nair and Pravin Tambe.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (C), Parthiv Patel (wk), Yogesh Takawale, Yuvraj Singh, AB de Villiers, Albie Morkel, Sachin Rana, Ashok Dinda, Mitchell Starc, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Rampaul.


Royals dish out a royal thumping to RCBApril 26, 2014