Strong batting by TNCA President’s XI powered the host to 371 for seven against Kerala on the opening day of the Kalpathi all-India Buchi Babu tournament at the IIT-Chemplast ground on Sunday.

B. Indrajith top-scored with a 133-ball 91 (7x4, 1x6) and skipper S. Badrinath contributed 67 (134b, 4x4, 3x6). The two raised 103 runs in 30 overs for the third wicket.

Earlier, openers K.B. Arun Karthick (82, 145b, 8x4, 2x6) and Abhinav Mukund (50, 120b, 3x4, 1x6) put on 122 in 38.5 overs to build a platform for their side. For Kerala, left-arm spinner K.R. Sreejith picked up three wickets.

At the IC-Guru Nanak ground, TNCA XI had a fight on its hands against Tripura. After being rocked early, Tripura recovered to 221 with Nirupam Sen Chowdhury making 82 (134b, 11x4) and Manisankar Murasingh, 49. Left-arm spinner Rahil Shah and off-spinner A.C. Prathiban shared six wickets between them. Then, TNCA XI slumped to 66 for four; K. Bharath Shankar was batting on 29. Tripura paceman Viki Saha struck twice.

Despite a battling 55 (105b, 7x4) by skipper S. Suresh Kumar, Hyderabad shot out TNCA Districts for 132 at the SRMC ground. Off-spinner Amol Shinde took three wickets. Hyderabad was 36 for one at stumps.

Half-centuries from Awijeet Roy (54, 124b, 5x4) and Tarjinder Singh (56, 126b, 3x4, 1x6) enabled Assam reach 224 against Baroda at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium. Left-arm paceman Lukman Meriwala prised out three batsmen. D.B. Prashanth notched up 79 (117b, 7x4, 3x6) as Andhra progressed to 207 for three in 52.1 overs against Bengal at the RKM-Vivekananda ground; after a 2.20 p.m. start, the overs had been reduced to 82 per side.

The scores: Group ‘A’, Day One: Andhra 207 for three in 52.1 overs (K.S. Bharat 45, D.B. Prashanth 79, K. Bharat Reddy 42 batting, Amir Goni three for 67) vs Bengal. Toss: Andhra.

Group ‘B’: Tripura 221 in 69.2 overs (Nirupam Sen Chowdhury 82, Manisankar Murasingh 49, Rahil Shah three for 34, A.C. Prathiban three for 57) vs TNCA XI 66 for four in 30 overs. Toss: Tripura.

Group ‘C’: TNCA Districts 132 in 80.4 overs (S. Suresh Kumar 55, J. Kousik 32, A. Shinde three for 21) vs Hyderabad 36 for one in 16 overs. Toss: Districts.

Group ‘D’: Assam 224 in 86.5 overs (Awijeet Roy 54, Tarjinder Singh 56, J. Syed Mohammad 41, L. Meriwala three for 31) vs Baroda 14 without loss in 11 overs. Toss Baroda.

Group ‘D’: TNCA President’s XI 371 for seven in 100 overs (K.B. Arun Karthick 82, Abhinav Mukund 50, S. Badrinath 67, B. Indrajith 91, M. Shahrukh Khan 41, K.R. Sreejith three for 141) vs Kerala. Toss: TNCA President’s XI.

More In: Cricket | Sport