India wins toss and bats in 3rd ODI vs Bangladesh; Vinay Kumar and Manoj Tiwary in.

The third and final ODI between India and Bangladesh on Thursday was abandoned after frequent rains marred play on a day the visitors put up another shoddy batting display.

Having won the series 2-0, a third stoppage due to heavy downpour during the Indian innings ensured there was no chance of a clean sweep.

Weather had played spoilsport in all the matches, but in the final one-dayer it became the decisive factor as even an efficient drainage system couldn’t ensure the start of the proceedings after India was reeling at 119 for nine in 34.2 overs with the match being reduced to 40 overs-a-side after a second stoppage.

While the play had started after the earlier rain delays, a third spell of shower was enough for the umpires to call off the match.

India was tottering at 97 for eight staring at its lowest score against Bangladesh, but Stuart Binny, with an unbeaten 25, helped the team get past the three-figure mark before rain stopped play.

India: R. Uthappa c N. Hossain b Mortaza 5, A. Rahane c N. Hossain b A. Hossain 3, C. Pujara lbw b Shakib 27, A. Rayudu c Mushfiqur b Taskin 1, M. Tiwary c A. Haque b A. Hossain 2, S. Raina c Mushfiqur b Shakib 25, W. Saha b Shakib 16, S. Binny (not out) 25, Akshar c Mushfiqur b Taskin 1, Mohit lbw b Gazi 1, Umesh (not out) 0; Extras (b-3, w-10): 13; Total (for nine wkts. In 34.2 overs): 119.

Fall of wickets: 1-8, 2-8, 3-13, 4-16, 5-57, 6-89, 7-90, 8-97, 9-119.

Bangladesh bowling: Mortaza 8-1-25-1, A. Hossain 6-1-23-2, Taskin 8-1-15-2, Shakib 7.2-0-27-3, N. Hossain 2-0-14-0, Gazi 2-0-7-1, Mahmudullah 1-0-5-0.

Match abandoned owing to rain.

Man-of-the-series: Stuart Binny.


Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Mithun Ali, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Sohag Gazi, Mashrafe Mortaza, Taskin Ahmed, Al—Amin Hossain.

India: Robin Uthappa, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Wriddiman Saha, Manoj Tiwary, Stuart Binny, Akshar Patel, Mohit Sharma, Vinay Kumar.


Upbeat India eyes whitewashJune 18, 2014

More In: Cricket | Sport