India won the under-19 quadrangular series with a massive 201-run win over South Africa in the final at the ACA-VDCA stadium here on Saturday.

An interesting tussle was expected after the two teams entered the final with a win against each other in the double-leg round-robin phase, but South Africa capitulated to the Indian spinners and was shot out for 66 in 28.1 overs.

Off-spinner Aamir Gani claimed three wickets, and off spinner Sarfaraz Khan — who had played a superb cameo in the morning — picked up two, both in the same over, while left-arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav also got two, and right arm medium pace bowler Deepak Hooda one.

Chasing India’s 267 for six, South Africa’s collapse began with Clyde Fortuin’s run out in the seventh over. In the very next, Sarfaraz trapped Aidan Markham and Lloyd Brown in front, with the ball keeping low both times.

Then, Hooda had Gregory Oldfield plumb in front, and when captain Yaseen Valli was run out, South Africa had lost half its line-up for 51.

Jason Smith (23, 2x6) fell at the same score, holing out to Shreyas Iyer off Yadav. The end came soon after.

After being invited to take first strike, India lost opener Ankush Bains in the first over. But, skipper Vijay Zol (71, 90b, 6x4, 1x6) calmed the early nerves joining Akhil Herwadkar to put on 51 for the second wicket. Contributions from Ricky Bhui (46, 53b, 3x4, 1x6), Sarfaraz (67 not out, 58b, 6x4) and Hooda (32, 30b, 3x4) pushed the score past 200, and helped the team finish with a healthy total.

Australia third

Damien Mortimer scored an unbeaten 100 (126b, 11x4, 2x6) to lead Australia to an eight-wicket win over Zimbabwe in the match for the third place.

His 143-run stand for the second wicket with Ben McDermott (64, 67b, 8x4, 1x6) brought up victory in quick time. Earlier, Zimbabwe made 228, thanks mainly to Ryan Burl (74, 8x4, 3x6).

The scores: Final: India 267 for six in 50 overs (Vijay Zol 71, Sarfaraz Khan 67 n.o., Ricky Bhui 46, Deepak Hooda 32, Akhil Herwadkar 25, Justin Dill three for 63) bt South Africa 66 in 28.1 overs (Aamir Gani three for 18).

Third place: Zimbabwe 228 in 50 overs (Ryan Burl 74, Malcolm Lake 42, Kierren Geyle 38, Guy Walker four for 64) lost to Australia 229 for two in 41.3 overs (Damien Mortimer 100 n.o., Ben McDermott 64, Jake Doran 28 n.o.).

This article has been corrected for a factual error.

The third paragraph described Sarfaraz Khan as a leg spinner and Deepak Hooda as an off spinner. Actually, Sarfaraz khan is an off spinner and Deepak Hooda is a right arm medium pace bowler.


Under-19 final todayOctober 5, 2013

More In: Cricket | Sport