South Africa’s Highveld Lions will look to inch closer to a semifinal berth when it takes on struggling and injury-hit English side Yorkshire in a group B encounter of the Champions League Twenty20 here on Saturday.

Yorkshire received a mauling at the hands of the Sydney Sixers in its first match before sharing the points against Mumbai Indians in a washed-out game.

The county side is currently placed fourth in group B.

Lions, on the other hand, are placed second in the group after winning two and losing one of their preliminary games so far.

Stars flop

Prior to the tournament, skipper Alviro Petersen, Quinton de Kock and Neil McKenzie were identified as the three main batsmen in the Lions line-up.

But all three of them flopped against Sydney Sixers which was a major reason for the team’s loss. But opener Gulam Bodi sparkled with a 61 and would be expected to carry the form into the remaining matches.

Bodi had also played a fine knock against Chennai Super Kings.

The left-arm pairing of Sohail Tanvir and Dirk Nannes will continue to be at the forefront of the Lions' bowling plans.

Left-arm spinner Aaron Phangiso, who spent a sleepless night after getting Sachin Tendulkar’s wicket in the game against Mumbai Indians, has shown fine temperament and poses a serious threat to the Yorkshire batsmen.

Yorkshire, on the other hand, will look up to Phil Jaques, Gary Ballance and Adil Rashid to score the bulk of the runs.

Bowling woes

The team lacks stars in the bowling department and it is important that every individual who gets to roll his arm over comes good.

The teams (from):

Yorkshire: Andrew Gale (captain), Moin Ashraf, Azeem Rafiq, Gary Ballance, Oliver Hannon-Dalby, Dan Hodgson, Phil Jaques, Adam Lyth, David Miller, Steven Patterson, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Ryan Sidebottom, Iain Wardlaw, Eddie Wilson.

Highveld Lions: Alviro Petersen (captain), Temba Bavuma, Gulam Bodi, Zander de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Neil McKenzie, Pumelela Matshikwe, Chris Morris, Dirk Nannes, Ethan O'Reilly, Aaron Phangiso, Dwaine Pretorius, Sohail Tanvir, Jean Symes, Thami Tsolekile.

More In: Cricket | Sport