Emerging India batsman Unmukt Chand, opening the innings for ONGC, cracking an unbeaten 111 from 53 balls and helped his team defeat Jain Irrigation by nine wickets at the 10th All India Dr. D.Y. Patil T20 Cup Group A league match on Monday.

This was the first match for the 21-year-old, as also his team, while Jain Irrigation suffered first loss in three games. D Y Patil ‘A’ downed Andhra Bank by five wickets in another league tie at the D Y Patil stadium, Nerul.

Jain Irrigation piled up 173 for six wickets after being put into bat. Opener Vishant More (54) and Masnsingh Nigde (49) were the top scorers. Medium-pacer Sumeet Narwal and Surab Kumar grabbed two wickets each for ONGC.

In response, Chand, India U-19 World Cup winning team captain two years ago, struck nine sixes and seven fours in a second wicket stand of 173 with Tanmay Srivastava (57 not out off 42 balls, eight fours.

ONGC chased down the target for the loss of opener Manan Vahora, getting 176 with 22 balls to spare. Hosts and defending champions D.Y. Patil ‘A’ cruised to victory in another high-scoring Group A league game.

Chasing down a 196-runs target set by Andhra Bank, opener Shoaib Shaikh raced to 58 off 26 balls (seven fours, three sixes), supported by Yogesh Takawale (45 no) and Siddharth Chitnis (25 no) in reaching 200-5.

Earlier, Andhra Bank put on a determined 195-9, helped by sizable contributions from number three batsman G.H. Vihari (87 off 47 balls, 11x4, 4x6), Amol Shinde (51 off 29 balls, 5x4, 2x6). Rakesh Prabhu took 4-33 for DYP, Iqbal Abdullah 2-34.

State Bank of Travancore and Comptroller and Auditor General also won their respective league games in the event organised by D.Y Patil Sports Academy, under the auspices of the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) and features IPL performers representing various teams.

Brief scores:

Andhra Bank 195-9 in 20 overs (G.H. Vihari 87, Amol Shinde 51; Rakesh Prabhu 4/33, Iqqbal Abdullah 2/34) lost to D.Y. Patil ‘A’ 200-5 in 17.4 overs (Shoaib Shaikh 58, Yogesh Takawale 45 n.o., Siddharth Chitnis 25 n.o., Saurabh Tiwari 22, Manpreet Juneja 20) by five wickets.

Jain Irrigation 173-6 in 20 overs (Vishal More 54, Mansingh Nigde 49, Krunal Nar 27; Sumeet Narwal 2/36, Surab Kumar 2/31) lost to ONGC 176-1 in 16.2 overs (Unmukt Chand 111 n.o., Tanmay Srivastava 57 n.o.)by nine wickets and 22 balls to spare.

Tata SC 166-5 in 20 overs (Nikhil Patil Jr. 76, Ian Dev Chouhan 64; Jalaz Saxena 2/19, Reetu Raj Singh 2/23) lost to CAG 169-1 in 18.2 overs (Jalaz Saxena 75 n.o., Ankur Jalka 54 n.o., Barvesh Shetty 32) by nine wickets.

State Bank of Hyderabad 180-6 in 20 overs (T. Suman 42, Anirudh Singh 63; Chandra Shekar 2/29, Rakesh K.J. 2/18) lost to State Bank of Travancore 181-7 in 20 overs (Rakesh K.J. 52, Vinan G. Nair 33, Sony K.C. 29; Ravi Kiran 2/43, Vishal Sharma 2/27) by three wickets.

More In: Cricket | Sport