Sport » Cricket

Updated: December 4, 2013 01:42 IST

Dhoni wins ICC’s LG People’s Choice Award

Special Correspondent
Comment   ·   print   ·   T  T  
M. S. Dhoni.
M. S. Dhoni.

India captain and wicketkeeper M.S. Dhoni has won the ICC’s LG People’s Choice Award for 2013. Dhoni is the second Indian to win this special category award after Sachin Tendulkar.

In Dhoni’s absence, BCCI Secretary Sanjay Patel received the award from LG Electronics India Director Howard Lee here on Tuesday.

Around two lakh fans voted to determine the winner on a dedicated ICC website and through the social media platform Twitter.

Australia’s Michael Clarke, England’s Alastair Cook, India’s Virat Kohli, and South Africa’s A.B. de Villiers were the others nominated by an ICC panel comprising Anil Kumble (ICC Cricket Committee chairman), England’s Alec Stewart, New Zealand’s Catherine Campbell, Pakistan’s Waqar Younis and South Africa’s Graeme Pollock.

In a statement released by the ICC, Dhoni said: “This is one of the awards that has given me tremendous satisfaction since it comes from the key stakeholders of the game; the fans. Recognition from the people who support and encourage us day in and day out only inspires me to put in that much more effort and go the extra mile for them.”

Broadcast show

ICC chief executive David Richardson said the LG ICC Awards 2013 would be a broadcast show on December 14. “It will not be the usual dinner awards. These awards are for the players and most of the teams and players are busy. So it will not be possible for them to be physically present, but we will make the broadcast show most enjoyable,” said Richardson after announcing the short-lists for various categories and the ICC Test and one-day teams.

Richardson said Virat Kohli (689 runs) — not in this year’s team — will probably get into the ODI team in 2014. Players were selected on the basis of their performance from August 7, 2012 to August 25, 2013.

The  ICC ODI team of the year as per batting order: T. Dilshan (SL, 928 runs), Shikhar Dhawan (Ind, 707), H. Amla (SA, 794), K. Sangakkara (SL, 956), A.B. de Villiers (SA, 819), M.S. Dhoni (Ind, capt. and wk, 450, 22 victims), R. Jadeja (India, 38 wkts.), S. Ajmal (Pak, 41), M. Starc (Aus, 28), J. Anderson (Eng, 29), L. Malinga (SL, 35), 12th man: M. McClenaghan (NZ, 29).

The  ICC Test team of the year as per batting order: A. Cook (Eng, capt., 1256 runs), C. Pujara (Ind, 1073), H. Amla (973), M. Clarke (Aus, 1559), M. Hussey (Aus, 527), A.B. de Villiers (816), M.S. Dhoni (wk, 700, 28 victims), G. Swann (Eng, 60 wkts.), D. Steyn (SA, 50), J. Anderson (Eng, 58), V. Philander (SA, 33); 12th man: R. Ashwin (Ind, 61).

Short-lists for other awards: Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the year: H. Amla, J. Anderson, M. Clarke, A. Cook, M.S. Dhoni, K. Sangakkara.

ICC Test cricketer of the year: H. Amla, J. Anderson, R. Ashwin, M. Clarke, C. Pujara, D. Steyn.

ICC ODI cricketer of the year: S. Ajmal, Shikhar Dhawan, M.S. Dhoni, Misbah-ul-Haq, R. Jadeja, K. Sangakkara.

ICC women’s ODI cricketer of the year: Suzie Bates (NZ), Charlotte Edwards (Eng), Meg Lanning (Aus), Dane van Niekerk (SA), Anya Shrubsole (Eng), Stafanie Taylor (WI).

ICC Emerging cricketer of the year: T. Boult (NZ), C. Pujara, J. Root (Eng), Mitchell Starc.

ICC associate and affiliate cricketer of the year: Kevin O’Brien (Ire), Kyle Coetzer (Scot), Ed Joyce (Ire), Nawroz Mangal (Afg).

ICC Twenty20 international performance of the year: U. Gul (Pak), Martin Guptill (NZ), Brendon McCullum (NZ), Ajantha Mendis (SL).

ICC women’s T20 cricketer of the year: Suzie Bates, Shanel Daley (West Indies), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Meg Lanning, Sarah Taylor (England), Stafanie Taylor.

David Shepherd Trophy for ICC umpire of the year: Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Ian Gould, Tony Hill, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel, Rodney Tucker.

ICC spirit of cricket: Mahela Jayawardena (SL) — Sri Lanka vs New Zealand, first Test, Nov. 2012, Galle, Sri Lanka (Jayawardena, batting on 91 with Sri Lanka on 229 for seven, gloves Jeetan Patel’s delivery and is caught behind by New Zealand wicketkeeper Kruger van Wyk and starts walking before the umpire raised his finger. The nomination has come from a member of the New Zealand squad who felt Jayawardena’s actions were deserving of recommendation for the award as it happened at a very crucial stage of the match).

Farhad Reza (Bangladesh) — Pakistan vs Bangladesh, ICC World T20, Sri Lanka 2012, Group match played on September 25, 2012 (Reza in an attempt to catch Pakistan opener Nasir Jamshed touches the boundary. Before the on-field umpires refer the catch to the third umpire, Reza signals a six, confirming that his foot had touched the boundary).

More In: Cricket | Sport
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Listen to The Hindu's Sports Editor Nirmal Shekar speak to our Sports-Writer Arun Venugopal on India's showing at the Commonweath Games — with a guest appearance by golden girl Dipika Pallikal — India's tour of England, the Jadeja-Anderson controversy and more....Listen in »






Recent Article in Cricket

Virat Kohli raises his arms as he celebrates making 100 runs against Australia on the third day of their cricket test match in Melbourne.

Kohli-Johnson verbal volleys spice things up on Day 3

Indian vice-captain Virat Kohli’s temperament was once again tested after the batsman was hit by a Mitchell Johnson return throw followe... »